1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows 8 and Blu-Ray

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by wjones40, Jan 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wjones40

    wjones40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I changed my computer from Windows 7 Ultimate to Windows 8 Pro and my PowerDVD 12 doesn't play my blu-ray discs. I haven't tried DVD's yet. I've reinstalled PowerDVD and while it shows the file structure of the disc, it keeps saying the file types are unsupported. I've applied the updates and it's still no go. Any ideas other then get Linux will be appreciated.
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
  3. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  4. wjones40

    wjones40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, I already had Media Center installed. I also have Cyberlink PowerDVD 12 installed. Everything worked when I did the upgrade from Windows 7 Ultimate to Windows 8 Pro. I developed registry problems about 2 weeks later and wiped my computer and did a clean install. That's when everything went north. Even with Media Center installed, Power DVD will not work. It's definately a bad install; but, I'm not sure what went wrong. I had to manually install the C++ libraries. They weren't installed this time. It took a while to figure out what the "side by side" error was that the program was generating. I don't remember the exact error, sorry. Now, I'm trying to figure out what else didn't get installed. I haven't had this much fun since an HP Laser printer started to fail and was knocking out my USB ports.
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    i cannot find anything else on the problem,plenty of questions but no answers
     
  6. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,547
    First Name:
    Jim
    As it sounds like a bad install, I would simply start over.
     
  7. wjones40

    wjones40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    It was a bad install. From a bad copy. Before I wiped the drive I copied the file to a USB stick and somehow, it got corrupted there. Working on getting another download from Cyberlink.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085754

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice