1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows 8 and wifi connection problem

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by dontknowwhattodo, Mar 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dontknowwhattodo

    dontknowwhattodo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I am having trouble connecting my new Toshiba Satellite p875-31p running Windows 8 to my wireless internet connection.
    the laptop came new with windows 8 it has not been upgraded to it.
    It connects fine using the Ethernet. There are 3 other laptops running win 7 starter, win 7 ultimate, and xp all of which are able to connect wirelessly without problems.

    I have checked the device manager and there are no conflicting devices or errors on the network adapters

    When i run windows diagnostics i get the following error

    wifi does not have a valid ip.


    i have checked my netgear dgn1000 router and all attached devices are given there own ip addresses


    I have tried (as admin)

    netsh winsock reset catalog (reset winsock entries)

    netsh int ip reset reset.log hit (reset TCP/IP stack)

    the result of which is this:

    resetting global, ok!
    resetting Neighbor, ok!
    resetting path, ok!
    resetting rout, ok!
    resetting failed.
    access denied.

    After a restart i am still unable to connect.I have tried a system restore to no avail!


    Below is the results of my ipconfig /all


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Precious
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 60-36-DD-09-CA-87
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 PCI-E Gigabit Eth
    ernet Controller (NDIS 6.30)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-8C-FA-2C-DF-F7
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3cc6:44e0:c501:1149%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 09 March 2013 16:43:00
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 09 March 2013 17:42:59
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 352357626
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-46-7B-04-60-36-DD-09-CA-86

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 2230
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 60-36-DD-09-CA-86
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:2077:2fc4:adff:a77e(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2077:2fc4:adff:a77e%19(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{17E2FC7F-E8AB-4495-8347-502D2380F45D}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Please help..!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    If still no wireless connection after the above ...

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 8 or 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
     
  4. dontknowwhattodo

    dontknowwhattodo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    TCP/IP stack repair options had the same result as in my first post:

    resetting failed.
    access denied.

    When i reset the laptop there is still no wifi connection

    Below is the screenshot you requested.
    Thank you

    [​IMG]
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    The "access denied" is worrisome. :(

    In Device Manager uninstall the wireless adapter; then restart the PC and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the drive. Then try the repairs again.
     
  6. dontknowwhattodo

    dontknowwhattodo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I tried the steps above, here are the full results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Resetting Global, OK!
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\windows\system32>


    Its still not working
     
  7. dontknowwhattodo

    dontknowwhattodo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I tried the steps above, here are the full results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Resetting Global, OK!
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\windows\system32>


    Its still not working
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If that succeeds then try WPA-PSK (not WPA2).
     
  9. dontknowwhattodo

    dontknowwhattodo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Hi,

    I changed the settings to what you said and now no computers can connect wirelessly to the router. I cant change the settings back as they no longer show up at all in the wireless tab!
     
  10. dontknowwhattodo

    dontknowwhattodo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Just noticed something interesting...

    When i tried to change the settings back it was through my computer with an ethernet cable and i could not see the wireless setting at all to reset them. When i tried via another computer using the ethernet cable it was able to view the settings and change them back to what they were. ... dont know if this is any help, i just thought it was interesting that my computer doesn't even recognise that there are wireless settings!
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13,674
    The problem in my opinion may well be the modem/router

    That Intel Centrino 2230N wireless adapter, has been found to require in many cases an update to the router firmware

    Referring to your last, reset the router there is more than likely a reset button, that requires usually a ball point pen or similar to press the reset to defaults

    Your last was not visible when I typed this what make is the modem router OK found it now Netgear leave it with me I will post shortly
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13,674
    Try a firmware update to the router
    http://downloadcenter.netgear.com/other/

    re this firmware update please pay attention to this
    Click Yes to check for new firmware (recommended). The wireless-N modem router



    automatically checks the NETGEAR database for a new firmware image file. If no new

    firmware version is available, the message &#8220;No New Firmware Version Available&#8221; displays.

    (If you select &#8220;No,&#8221; you can check for new firmware later; see the online User Manual).


    2. If new firmware is available, click Yes, and the router automatically upgrades itself with the



    latest firmware.

    Do not try to go online, turn off the router, shut down the computer, or do

    anything else to the router until the router finishes restarting and the Ready light

    has stopped blinking for several seconds

     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13,674
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    The problem computer could not connect even with encryption disabled? Make sure you are not using MAC Address filtering on the router to lock yourself out.
     
  15. dontknowwhattodo

    dontknowwhattodo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Not sure what the problem was but it has been fixed.

    Tried Macboatmaster's advice which resulted in none of the laptops being able to connect via wifi or ethernet. I think the connection may have been interrupted part way and scrambled it a bit. After some fiddling with the routers settings I decided to reset it to its factory settings. Now all the computers are working fine :D

    Thanks for your time and help .(y)

    Hopefully it is not a temporary fix!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1092458