1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows cannot start the Windows Firewall/ICS service

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bryce81085, Oct 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bryce81085

bryce81085 Thread Starter

im kind of new at trying to figure things out like this but i am some what formilar with computers but this is what i get:
    When I go to the "Wireless Network Connection 2" Properties, and click on the "Advanced" tab then click on Windows Firewall "Settings" button, I get a message that says: "Windows Firewall settings cannot be displayed because the associated service is not running. Do you want to start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) service?" I click "Yes." Then I get a message that "Windows cannot start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Services (ICS) service." I tried doing the Network Setup Wizard, and everything appears fine then.

i dont really have any clue if i can be fixed but im hoping that someone can help me please!!!

2. surveyranger

surveyranger

goto 'administrative tools' in the control panel. click 'services', then scroll down to 'Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)'. what does it say to the right of it?
    now double-click it. a window should pop up with different tabs. if you are not sure what the settings are, then don't change any and ask first. it should say it's startup type= automatic and service type=started. also, look under the dependencies tab for the dependent services and make sure they're started as well. also, under the recovery tab, change the failure options to 'restart the service'

hope that helps ya

3. Paladin-X

Paladin-X

Try this: