Solved: Windows can't communicate (primary DNS server) Intermittent Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
I've seen similar posts on this topic, but I've tried several things and could use help. I'd like to paste the results of the ipconfig /all, but the box just flashes on my screen and I don't see anything in Notepad to show you. Thoughts on how to make ipconfig /all visible?

I've got a 3 year old Dell Studio XPS 7100 running Win7 with wireless and comcast cable modem. I've recently connected an Ethernet cable to see if the problem was wireless, but the problem continues. The system ran great until a couple weeks ago when intermittently the computer just "spins" when I try to view an open browser tab (e.g. MSN.com). This sometimes happens after computer wakes up, or during active working sessions. Rebooting temporarily fixes the problem, but sometimes it will fix itself if I wait awhile, but not always. I've done the following:

  • Rebooted the modem.
  • Run malware and removed "Search Protect"
  • Configured the TCP/IP settings - settings were okay
  • Ran the following ipconfig commands
    • ipconfig /flushdns
    • [FONT=&quot]ipconfig /registerdns[/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot][/FONT]ipconfig /release[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
    • [FONT=&quot]ipconfig /renew[/FONT]
I have other devices using the cable modem (e.g. work computer, tablets, cell phones), but they don't have this problem.


Help please.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


would you do a tcp/ip reset please

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista - Windows 7 - Windows 8 and Windows 10

For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

For Windows 8
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

  • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
  • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
  • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied
This often occurs with windows 8

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
Hi Wayne, thank you for replying to my cry for help.

I've been using McAfee Total Protection on my PC for the past few years. No change in firewall/security suite/antivirus.

I followed your instructions regarding the three tcp/ip resets. As an FYI, I couldn't find Accessories, so I ended up typing "CMD" in the Start/Search box and the "CMD.exe" file displayed. I then right clicked the file name and ran it as Administrator and each of the three resets ran fine without errors.

I restarted the computer and then noticed you wanted me to copy/paste the results of the tcp/ip resets in the CMD box, but it was too late. I'm assuming you wanted to view the CMD boxes' text if I had errors.

So far my PC is running fine, but then it did previously only to act up within a couple days - either from waking up or during active internet sessions.

Please advise if I need to do something else at this point or do I just wait to see if my PC can live through the next couple days without a network issue?

Again, thank you for your time. Much appreciated.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
wait and see if there are any issues over the next few days and then we can try other things

The reason for posting the details is just to check it worked ok
even though I put the warnings on possible errors , quite a few people ignore and do not run as admin
or get the Access is Denied error
 

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
Hi Wayne,

I woke the PC from its sleep this morning and the previously opened Firefox internet tabs (home page is msn.com) "connecting..." indicators just spun in circles and never refreshed. I waited about 10 minutes, then restarted the PC - internet is working fine now. It looks like it's time for Plan B.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
this applies more to laptops - BUT check anyway

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wireless connection drops out

Wireless connection drops out - Turn OFF "Power Save Mode"

how to access device manager for different windows versions
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

If the above does not work then

For Windows 7 or Vista
Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
or
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
For Windows 8
If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm
Once you are in device manager then navigate to

Network Adapters

Right click on your wireless network adapter, and select Properties

Go to the Advanced Tab, click on "Power Save Mode" and set the value to "Off". The default is usually "Maximum".
OR
Go to the power management tab. click on "Allow computer to turn off device to save power" make sure its not selected

This will obviously cause your battery to drain faster, This frequently helps connections that drop for seemingly no reason.

Power Plan on PC
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/power-plans-faq#1TC=windows-8

Change to high power and see if that helps
http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/5464-power-plan-settings-change-windows-8-a.html




------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
Okay, I did those things, but I had previously turned off the power saving option on my wireless device and that didn't help, that's when I connected the Ethernet cable a week ago to see if I could isolate the wireless network adapter as the culprit. The problem occurs at any point in time (after waking up or during active internet sessions) and while hardwired to the cable modem.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
Not sure what else to suggest as its on two adapters and intermittent
you could try re-installing both drivers for the adapters
and also
removing the adapters and re-installing - but it needs to be something common

If you goto power saving options
advanced and look at those settings and set to never

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

right click on the adapter and from the menu

remove/uninstall the adapter

Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
Hi Wayne,

I decided to do the tcp/ip reset again and show you the results. I didn't reboot after each of the three resets so I hope that doesn't matter. I'll send this to you now, reboot and then try what you instructed in your last note.

[FONT=&quot]Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
Reseting Interface, OK!
Restart the computer to complete this action.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
Reseting Interface, OK!
Restart the computer to complete this action.

C:\Windows\system32>[/FONT]
 

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
Hi Wayne,

I uninstalled my two network adaptors ("Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet" and "DW1525 802.11n WLAN PCIe Card"). However, I didn't check the box for each of them to remove software. I rebooted, it found the hardware and then I reinstalled the drivers. Should I have checked the "remove software" boxes when I uninstalled the network adapters?
 

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
Status so far:
1) Yesterday, after I uninstalled/reinstalled the network adaptors - time went by and the computer slept. After waking up it did something it hadn't done before and that was Firefox wouldn't open. I clicked on the Firefox icon, but nothing happened. I rebooted and it worked fine. Hmm?
2) This morning - the computer woke up and everything is working fine so far.

I'll assess the computer's performance for the next couple days, but I'm hopeful.

No matter the outcome, I really appreciate you staying with me on this Wayne. Thank you.
 

Wizeguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
33
Wayne, I had installed Malwarebytes a week ago to see if malware was the cause of my network connectivity issue. It found some stuff that I deleted, but today it found a potential threat called "PUP.Optional.MYPCbackup". I did some research, but the internet threads primarily talk about "PUP.Optional.MYPCbackup.A", so I'm not sure if I should have Malwarebytes remove "PUP.Optional.MYPCbackup". Thoughts?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
PUP - potentially unwanted program
The website has poor ratings (WOT) which looks for malware on websites www.mywot.com not sure how good it is, but useful to flag things and then I can make an educated guess

So you probably installed a program that you wanted and it also installed a load of other programs - which you dont want
you need to select custom install now, and not allow the default - or if only defauklt available read every page

as we are on post #14 now
I would start a new thread in the virus/malware forum and have the PC checked by a specialist
in can take 72hours to get a reply as a very busy forum
link back to this thread so they at least can see some history

also read this before posting
http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/943214-everyone-must-read-before-posting.html
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
i added a link into your virus post back to here

and marked this thread solved - until we see what is turned up in the virus forum
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top