1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows Mail and @live.com mail account

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by dustyjay, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dustyjay

dustyjay Thread Starter

First Name:
    Jay
    I am new to Vista and actually like Windows Mail. I have my ISP email account which works as it should in Windows Mail. I also have a @live.com (I suppose this is the replacement for the hotmail account.). Is there a way of adding the @live.com account to the accounts in Windows Mail? If this should be addressed in the Vista Forum feel free to move it please. TIA for any help:)

2. ShadowProwler420

ShadowProwler420

Go to Tools > Accounts within Windows Mail. That wizard should be pretty self-explanatory in adding your @live account. I was able to set up one of my gmail accounts pretty easily with it. ;)

3. dustyjay

dustyjay Thread Starter

First Name:
    Jay
    Account: 'mail.live.com', Server: 'mail.live.com', Protocol: POP3, Server Response: '-ERR Cannot connect to POP server 207.46.11.121 (207.46.11.121:110), connect error 10060', Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Server Error: 0x800CCC90, Error Number: 0x800CCC90

Above is the error I get in return when attempting to use the standard inputs

4. ShadowProwler420

ShadowProwler420

Although the discussion is for Thunderbird, try using what Johnfull posted in this thread and see if it helps:

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=860355

I'm suspecting the reason it didn't work for you the first time is due to having the incorrect servers specified for pop3 and smtp, as well as missing SSL port information.

5. dustyjay

dustyjay Thread Starter

First Name:
    Jay