1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows Media Player 11

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Topdragon, Jan 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Topdragon

Topdragon Thread Starter

Hi Guys.
    I'm a newbie to this site but I hope someone can help with a really weird problem.
    This might be a bit long as I explain what steps I've taken to resolve the issue.

I am on Windows XP Home edition, Pentium 4. Yes, it's quite an old PC, but it's been fine until.........

Suddenly my WMP 11 has started producing an empty folder with the name (Zither music) on my desktop every single time I open WMP. If I delete it, it reappears immediately as long as WMP is open.
    I say empty folder, but in fact there is yet another empty folder inside it named (playlists).
    When I close WMP is stays deleted. Until the next time I open the programme!

I have tried every single thing I can think of to get rid of it but without success.
    I did have a folder called Zither music in the "My Music" folder, but there was no playlist for it within WMP.
    Neither is there anything in WMP under album/genre/song/artist or any other heading.
    So the first thing I did was delete the whole folder with the music in it.
    Doing a search for a file/folder with that name now produces nothing. I have searched about 6 times. There is no folder with the name zither music, or even just zither. It does not exist according to Windows.
    So where is this folder coming from?

So I tried a defrag/CCleaner/virus scan/Spybot scan.
    Didn't solve the problem.
    So I went into safe mode and repeated the above, plus a 4 phase error check (took about 8 hours) plus yet another search for the folder.