1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows Media player keeps asking

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Boothbay, Jan 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Boothbay

    Boothbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    last week i tried to open an older video clip that i had...Windows media player came on recommending me to get the latest version..11. I downloaded it and now, each time i want to play a video with it, i keep getting the reminder to update my MP to 11. Is there an association program that i overlooked...? Clicking on it and send to still makes me get that setup of MP.
     
  2. Intel_Xtreme

    Intel_Xtreme

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    491
    Are you sure you installed it?
    Try opening the file with a program like VLC (Great program that uses little memory).
     
  3. Boothbay

    Boothbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Yep, i installed it and it shows up in Add/remove in control panel.
     
  4. Intel_Xtreme

    Intel_Xtreme

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    491
    Do any other video files play in Windows Media Player 11 without error?
     
  5. Boothbay

    Boothbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Well, i just connected my usb flash drive where i have some wmv video clips and as soon as it asked if i wanted to play it with W M P, i still get that message about installing it. Its already installed.
     
  6. Intel_Xtreme

    Intel_Xtreme

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    491
    Hmmm.....
    Try downloading Media Player 12.
    May only be for Windows 7 systems though.
     
  7. Boothbay

    Boothbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Its working now...i just got tired of that message about installing WMP, that i just clicked the connect button and in one second it was playable...go figure. Thanks
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1035074

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice