1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows Media Player not loading

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Darklightr, Feb 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    This problem just recently started happening. When I attempt to start Windows Media Player, the toolbar shows a button, and Task Manager says it's running, but nothing appears on my desktop. I had version 9, so I went ahead and downloaded version 10 today, but it still does the same thing. Also, attempting to start it by loading WMP files won't cause it to start correctly, either.

    I use Windows XP Professional with all updates and Service Pack 2 installed. My system is free of viruses/spyware/adware/malware, but here's a HijackThis log just for the heck of it:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
    Scan saved at 10:43:13 PM, on 2/9/2005
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\mHotkey.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\MI948F~1\GAMECO~1\common\swtrayv4.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\Dit.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\Steam.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\DitExp.exe
    C:\Program Files\BigFix\BigFix.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\LVComsX.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\AlbumDB2.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\Video\FxSvr2.exe
    C:\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.emachines.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Stationery\Blank.htm
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CHotkey] mHotkey.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SideWinderTrayV4] C:\PROGRA~1\MI948F~1\GAMECO~1\common\swtrayv4.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Dit] Dit.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Steam] C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\\Steam.exe -silent
    O4 - Global Startup: BigFix.lnk = C:\Program Files\BigFix\BigFix.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Shdocvw.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.emachines.com
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Bingo - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/xt0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! MahJong - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/ot0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=36467&clcid=0x409
    O16 - DPF: {2B1AA38D-2D12-11D5-AAD0-00C04FA03D78} (LocalExec Control) - https://portal.cwu.edu/nps/portal/g...gadgets.shortcut.ShortcutGadget/LocalExec.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {A3009861-330C-4E10-822B-39D16EC8829D} (CRAVOnline Object) - http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/ravonline.cab
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP - C:\WINDOWS\System32\HPZipm12.exe
    O23 - Service: WAN Miniport (ATW) Service - America Online, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe

    Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. t bone

    t bone

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,203
    have u tried system restore to a point before the problem or removing and reinstalling wmp?

    what did you add to your system before prob. occured?
     
  3. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    I haven't tried system restore, or removing/reinstalling. I couldn't find a way to uninstall Media Player. But I did install Media Player 10 over version 9, thinking that could solve the problem.

    I haven't installed any hardware or significant software before the problem started... except Half-Life 2. :)
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,636
    First Name:
    James
    try going to Task Manager and right clicking on the listing for WMP and click Maximize.
     
  5. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Nothing works in regards to Media Player (maximizing, moving, resizing, switching to, etc.). The only visible sign that something actually comes up is the button on the toolbar and the fact that it is supposedly running under Task Manager.
     
  6. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    If anyone knows how to uninstall WMP, I can try uninstall/reinstall.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,636
    First Name:
    James
    there is no real way to uninstall Windows Media Player because it's embedded too much within the Windows Operating System
     
  8. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Ah, okay. Any other ideas then?
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,636
    First Name:
    James
    Use Winamp. It can play WMA and WMVs.
     
  10. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    I have alternate media players. However, I want to fix things that are broken. :)
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,636
    First Name:
    James
    Only suggestion is to contact Microsoft. If it's not responding to the maximize then i don't know what else it could be. Your HJT is clean...

    Try running WMP in safe mode. If it does work then there is something in your startyo that is causing the issue.
     
  12. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Good idea. If it doesn't work, I'll e-mail Microsoft. Thanks. :)
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,636
    First Name:
    James
    (y)

    Beyond this will leave me stumped :confused:
     
  14. Darklightr

    Darklightr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    I booted into Safe Mode, and indeed, Windows Media Player works correctly.

    Any ideas what could have been modified in WMP's startup to cause this? :)
     
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,636
    First Name:
    James
    Something is conflicting with WMP. Try this:

    In safe mode, go to START > RUN > type MSCONFIG. When the screen comes up, go to the start up tab. Actually compare the 04s in the HJT log above and see if anything has been missed. Then uncheck all and reboot into normal mode (let me know what was left)

    In normal mode, run WMP and see if it works.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328784

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice