1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Windows Media Player won't download music

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by bilnrobn, May 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    First Name:
    Bill
    I have recently upgraded from V7 to V9. I now find, (& it may be nothing to do with the upgrade), that on trying to download music from a link in a site I get the following error message... "Windows Media Player cannot play the file because the server is not responding" It then goes on to say that the link may be at fault, but it happens with many links so I think the problem is with my settings. I have tried to sort it out through the help screen but... well you know what I am going to say! Can anyone lead me through it please?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,660
    Hiya

    Are you still having these problems:

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?t=229623

    Also, what are you running at the same time? It may be that you don't have enough rescoures:

    Go to Run and type MSINFO32
    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

    Are you using a firewall? If so, which one?

    Make sure all network protocols are enabled in WMP:

    http://videoontheweb.faa.gov/mmp2.cfm

    Also, if you don't use a proxy, make sure taht the settings refelct this:

    http://videoontheweb.faa.gov/mmp3.cfm

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    First Name:
    Bill
    Yes I am still experiencing the problems Eddie, and thanks for answering.
    Usually when I try to run WMP I am only running what runs in the background. Here is the list...

    *StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    Billminder c:\quickenw\billmind.exe .DEFAULT Startup
    Hot Key Kbd Daemon skdaemon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    igwsvc All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    LexStart lexstart.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Mouse Suite 98 Daemon pelmiced.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    mouseElf c:\program files\genius netscroll + series mouse\mouseelf.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    MSConfigReminder c:\windows\system\msconfig.exe /reminder All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    NAV DefAlert c:\progra~1\norton~1\defalert.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Norton Auto-Protect c:\progra~1\norton~1\navapw32.exe /loadquiet All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Norton eMail Protect c:\program files\norton antivirus\poproxy.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    PCRecSA All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    PersFw "c:\program files\kerio\personal firewall\persfw.exe" /hide All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    WinPatrol c:\progra~1\billps~1\winpat~1\winpatrol.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Xicon All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Xpagent All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices


    My firewall is Kerio.

    All the network protocols are enabled and the streaming proxy settings are all set to 'none'.

    This is going to sound a really stupid question, but how do I know if I have a proxy server? I am assuming I don't.

    When I run WMP V9 I get "The page cannot be displayed" when it loads up, and also if I click on the 'Radio tuner' button. I recently changed to broadband and I am wondering if WMP is trying to access a dialup line or something??? If I click the Help button and then 'Check for updates' it goes through to the site ok, (and says I have the latest updates).

    As you will have gathered, I am a bit lost, so any help you can give would be appreciated.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,660
    Okay, lets look at the list.....

    *StateMgr: Windows ME default for System Restore. Do NOT disable!

    Billminder: Can be setup in Quicken to remind user of due payments. Available via Start -> Programs. Not needed

    Hot Key Kbd Daemon skdaemon.exe: Multi-function keyboard driver. Allows the use of programmable keys on mulimedia keyboards. Required if you use the additional keys. Up to you

    igwsvc: Not a single idea????

    LexStart: Lexmark printer software may add Lexstart.exe in the startup folder to handle print commands that you send to the printer. Sometimes required for the printer to work correctly - not in the case of a Lexmark Z42 for instance. Up to you

    Mouse Suite 98 Daemon: Mouse driver. Appears to cause a behaviour where the desktop suddenly flips back up when playing DirectX associated games. Not needed

    mouseElf: System Tray access to the mouse control panel for Genius Netscroll mice. Required if you use non-standard Windows driver features. Up to you

    MSConfigReminder: This is an entry that appears when you uncheck an item in the Startup group, and will disappear if on the next reboot you select the option to not be reminded that you are running in Selective Startup mode. Not needed

    NAV DefAlert: Norton Anti-Virus Definitions Alert. Warns you if virus definitions are out of date. Leave enabled unless you manually update virus definitions on a regular basis. Up to you

    Norton Auto-Protect: Norton Anti-Virus's background scanning process. Can be inconvenient because it scans files when Run/Opened or Downloaded/Created and you can scan files manually via right-click after downloading/copying. However, in light of some of the viruses around these days it's probably best to put up with the inconvenience. Keep

    Norton eMail Protect: Proxy E-mail protection from Norton Anti-Virus (prior to 2002). If you have it installed, leave it enabled to automatically check for suspect attachments in E-mails that may contain viruses. It downloads the E-mail into poproxy, which serves as a proxy server on the local machine, before scanning it. Keep

    PCRecSA: Part of the IBM/XPoint Rapid Restore utility. What does it do and is it required? Not sure, leave

    PersFw: Kerio or Tiny Personal Firewall

    ScanRegistry: Scans the system registry and makes back-ups at start-up. Important should the registry become corrupt. The executable "Scanregw.exe" is located in %windir% (where %windir% is the Windows directory - C:\Windows or C:\Winnt). Keep

    SchedulingAgent: MS Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray that is only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. Required if you have regularily scheduled events such as weekly virus scans. Up to you

    SystemTray: SYSTRAY.EXE - System Tray Services. Provides the Volume Control, PC Card Status, Power Management and other icons that reside in the System Tray. Keep

    WinPatrol: WinPatrol - "Manage Startup programs, tasks, cookies; will sniff out Worms, Trojan horses, Cookies, Adware, Spyware, Klez, Assumption and other malicious programs". Up to you

    Xicon: Part of the IBM/XPoint Rapid Restore utility. What does it do and is it required? Not sure, leave

    Xpagent: Part of the IBM/XPoint Rapid Restore utility. What does it do and is it required? Not sure, leave




    Go to Start | run and type MSCONFIG, startup tab. Uncheck the ones you don't want, apply and restart.


    As for igwsvc, if you go to Find Files and Folders, and seach the entire drive, what comes up?

    For the proxy server, if you're on Internet Explorer, go here:

    Control panel | Internet Options. Connections tab. Settings. Is Use a Proxy Server ticked?

    Also, go to the Advanced tab, and scroll down to Http, and see if the second box is ticked, about proxy.

    I'll look at the firewall after, if no joy with the above

    eddie
     
  5. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    First Name:
    Bill
    Thanks for all the trouble you are going to for me Eddie, it is appreciated.
    I searched for igwsvc and found a folder called that and also an application file. The file is in program files/xpoint/igwsvc/bin. does that help? I Googled xpoint and found Xpoint Technologies. I think it may be something to do with system restore.
    The proxy server box is not ticked, and the advanced button is not active, presumably because the box isn't ticked.
    I am un-ticking mouse suite daemon and mouse elf in the startup menu.
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,660
    I'm not too sure on the xpoint folder. Do you have anything in your Program List when you click Start?

    I use WMP 6.4, but if I use my version 8, ZoneAlarm always pops up, and if I deny it, then I get the page cannot be displayed. So, lets look at that.

    Do you just use the personal firewall, or the Winroute firewall?

    Not sure how you access the controls for the firewall, but for ZA, I doubleclick the icon near the clock to open the control panel.

    In there, can you see if Web Content Filtering is enabled? Not sure if this will cause a problem.

    Also, can you see a program list, of all the programs/applications that are allowed to access the web, and not being denied? If so, see if WMP is disabled or blocked?

    Ah, reading now and its the Configuration option, if you rightclick the icon.

    Also, have a look at this:

    http://eu.download.kerio.com/dwn/kpf/kpf40-en-v13.pdf

    page 24

    And see if this looks like the rule that is set up for WMP. Hope that makes some sense :)

    If not, we'll look at other things

    eddie
     
  7. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    First Name:
    Bill
    I think you have put your finger on the problem Eddie! I found a listing in Kerio that show all the applications that are on my comuter that can or can't access the internet. Most were allowed access but a few, including WMP, were not. I changed the setting and now it seems to work.
    The xpoint folder is a bit of a mystery. It has four folders within it, all with several files, and the xpoint folder itself is 9mb and has files. there are several application files with the following names.. exiticon, instdrvw, instserv, kill, srsleep, pagkill, xpclkill. I'm not game to dump it in case it is important.
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,660
    Hiya

    Sorry for the late reply, been revising and watching England in the Euro, though we're out now :(

    Glad to hear the player now woks. As to Xpoint, there's not much on certain files that you've found.

    Just doublecheck that none of those files are running when you press Ctrl-Alt-Del, but just leave if you want, as nothing is causing any problems.

    I'll mark this Solved :)

    eddie
     
  9. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    First Name:
    Bill
    Thanks Eddie. No, none of them are listed when I Crtl/Alt/Delete.
    Sorry about the football! (Chuckle)
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,660
    That's okay, at least France are out :p

    Here's to the world cup!!

    Back to that program. As its not running there, and I just looked back at the post, it says its this:

    IBM/XPoint Rapid Restore utility

    So, as you're using an IBM pc, it may be its own restore program. I have the same with my HP, so looks like that one may be solved as well :)

    eddie
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/232296

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice