Solved: WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vianni

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27
Hiya Guys

I have gone through a good number of posts and cannot find anyone else with the same problem.

i used to have a programme loaded on my system when it was Win98. I have upgraded to WinXP and recently tried to re-install the same programme. It won't.

I get an error message that says ""C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The file is not suitable for running Ms-Dos and Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application"":confused:
You then get an option of 2 buttons 'Close' and 'Ignore' - although whichever button you press the installantion still ends.:mad:

I would really appreciate any help/ideas as I would really like to get this installed on the machine again - it is around £200 to buy and the updates cost about £80 - but I can't get the flippin thing loaded onto the machine in the first place to be able to do an update anyway.:(


Thanks in anticipation
xVx
 

vianni

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27
thought it sounded to simple to be true.

Have done what you said, but I get a mssg saying "" C\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\Config.nt could not be opened""
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
vianni said:
I get a mssg saying "" C\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\Config.nt could not be opened""
This now happens when you try to run the install of this Win98 program?

Check in \Windows\System32 and confirm that the file Config.nt is actually there. And as a double check, right mouse, properties and see if the readonly flag is selected.
 

vianni

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27
This now happens when you try to run the install of this Win98 program?
No, it happens when I try and run the XP_FIX file:confused:

Yes Config.nt is there and no it is not read only (but............ it does have the "don't know what this is" icon - if you know what I mean. The one you get when you are looking at a file and the pc don't have the software for it. - The one that looks like a mini sheet of paper with the corner turned dow - not the one that looks like a mini window.

hope you understood all that :)
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Ok, so there IS a Config.nt file there.

Is there an Autoexec.nt file there?
If no, rename the Config.nt file and then rerun the XP_Fix.

If both files are there, then your install should now work.

You can also try running the XP_fix directly from the site instead of downloading it. This shouldn't make a difference, but ....
 

vianni

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27
Errm - no, I can't see an Autoexec.nt file - how strange

If no, rename the Config.nt file and then rerun the XP_Fix.
rename it to what?

Tried running it from the site and same thing happens - boo hoo (sniff)
 
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
1,408
Did you try to run the setup in compatibility mode.To do this:-

1)Right click on the setup file.If it is on a disc,then copy it on your hard drive.
2)Next,select Properties.
3)Move to the Compatibility tab and check the box which says:-

[]Run this program in compatibility mode for:

4)In the scroll down menu,select Windows 98 / Windows ME.
5)Click on Apply.
6)Hit Ok.

Try to rerun the program and report back here.Good Luck.
 

vianni

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27
Goku - the short answer is ... errm - no!

But...it looks like I might have sorted it - somehow. I asked my little thing to do a search of the whole machine for the Autoexec.nt file. - and it found it in the WINDOWS\Repair folder along with another copy of the Config.nt file. So rightly or wrongly, I copied the Autoexec file over into the System 32 folder and then re-run the XP_Fix. This seems to have worked.

What it has actually done or not done I have no idea.

WhitPhil - thanks for your time and patience - we appear not to be spending megabucks on the new programme.

Thanks Guys
 
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
1,408
Wow,a pretty intelligent decision to directly let Windows search for the file.:)

Please mark the thread Solved using it from the Thread Tools link on the top of this page.Thank you.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top