1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows Update Broke

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Noyb, Apr 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    I figured I wouldn't have any problems by now .. So I updated to IE8.

    Now, IE8 will not access the M$ updates .. The link is wrong.
    I also have the same problem in another XP install ..
    I don't know if this happened when I updated to IE8 .. Or maybe after I installed other updates.

    Since I know the correct link ... I can use FF to update,
    But, IE 8 will not let even me paste in the correct link.

    Anyone know of any quick fixes ???
     

    Attached Files:

    • wud.gif
      wud.gif
      File size:
      16.7 KB
      Views:
      78
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    I'm planning on updating to IE8 soon but through Acronis Try & Decide first... ;)
     
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    If I can't find a quick fix ... I'll backup to IE6 and use FF.
    I have a backup HDD .. a Fresh Install, Fully loaded, Mostly updated ...
    That is the master for my working HDD .. and Acronis copies of it.

    Microsoft is really beginning to irritate me
     
  5. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    go back to IE7 then
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    NO .. Since all is OK using FF .. don't think it's a verification problem ..
    Also .. My Bootable backup HDD's (still on IE6) are OK
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You could try this fix: Fix IE Utility

    The tool will re-register around 89 dll & ocx files.

    Or perhaps re-register Windows Updates manually?

    Click Start > Run > type REGSVR32 dll name with each following command, pressing Enter each time:

    WUAPI.DLL
    WUAUENG.DLL
    WUAUENG1.DLL
    ATL.DLL
    WUCLTUI.DLL
    WUPS.DLL
    WUPS2.DLL
    WUWEB.DLL
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    Nice try .. but No Fix.
    I'm here on my Backup HDD .. IE6 that works.

    I've noticed that when you click on the IE update... Link 1 appears .. Then switches to Link 2

    On the good Backup HDD .. I can Paste Link 1 into FF or IE .. Then they switch to Link 2

    On the faulty system HDD ... If I paste Link 1 into IE or FF .. It doesn't work.
    I can Paste Link 2 into IE or FF .. and it works.

    I've eliminated my Comodo Fire Wall as the problem ...
    I'm now wondering if I've been bit by another M$ update (or something ??) .. and it's not an IE problem.

    The Backup (working) HDD is waiting on these M$ updates ...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Also make sure you don't have any proxy enabled in IE8.
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    If I knew what that was .. I'd take a look [​IMG]

    Would that also effect FF ??? .. it has the same problem.

    The problem is that either FF or IE hang at the attachment in post 1 with link 1
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Internet Options > Connections tab > LAN Settings. :)
     
  12. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    Nope .. Tried automatic on and off
     

    Attached Files:

  13. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    what about ending/new tasking iexplore.exe in task manager
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    Thanks .. I'll see if I can figure out what you're talking about in a little while :D

    I'm trying to build up my Backup HDD in stages to see where it goes wrong.
    So far .. I've added all the M$ updates .. (not including IE8) .. To my backup HDD .. and It still works.

    I'm currently moving this system to a Play HDD .. Then will add SP3 ..
    Something I don't want to do .. But it's necessary to install Office 2010 in XP.

    I think I can add SP3 without moving to IE8.
    About 20 more minutes .. and I'll move over to the Play HDD ... Where I don't care if I break it
     
  15. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    Setting a Windows Restore point before IE8 helps

    I'm going to mark this solved .. It has something to do with the way I installed IE8.

    After 2 tries .. I got it installed in the fresh HDD ... and the updates work.
    I know now that I can install SP3 .. (without getting IE8) .. so Office 2010 can be installed.
    That's probably what I'll do.

    Many Thanks Ya'll
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919006

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice