1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows vs Linux

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by gurbleeek, Oct 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gurbleeek

gurbleeek Thread Starter

I am thinking of getting a 2nd computer.
    As i am a virtual beginner i was wondering about the pro's & con's of the windows vs linux operating systems.
    Is Linux any good for beginner-intermediate users?
    I hear poor things about vista so it would probably be Linux vs XP.
    I don't have XP at the moment as i am running ME so i would have to buy a copy so the cost would have to come into the equation.
    Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Het Irv

Het Irv

Linux has a few things over XP and XP wins on a few, it realy comes down to your willingness to learn a new Operating System. Linux is not Windows

Linux Pros:
    *Price - Free,It is actually Illegal to sell Linux, you can give it away but you can't sell it.
    *User Friendly - I use Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon 7.10. It is one of the most user friendly versions of Linux there is. Almost everything can be done through the GUI (Graphical User Interface).
    *Repositories - The repositories are large databases of software for Linux that you can download and install with a few mouse clicks. The Repositories have many replacements for windows applications and a few obscure ones.
    *Virus/Spyware - Lack thereof. as of right now Linux is very secure against Viruses, Spyware, and hacking attempts.
    *Stability - While in XP the operating system will sometimes crash and there is nothing you can do about it, In Linux the OS is much more stable.

Linux Cons: