1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: windows xp pro-how to take it off and put 98 on

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by xfile47, Aug 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xfile47

    xfile47 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,142
    Have windows xp pro on a computer. The person that gave me the disk said there was one more time it could be used. Well it has been used up so it won't activate. What is the best way to take it back off so I can put windows 98 on it? Can someone help me with this?
     
  2. sockey99

    sockey99

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Boot from 98 start-up floppy.
    At A prompt, enter "format(space)c:(enter)...No quotes.
    This reformats the C drive and wipes the drive.
    Next A prompt. type.... setup(enter), with 98 CD in CD drive.
     
  3. xfile47

    xfile47 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,142
    I got to the a prompt with a 98 startup disk but when I type in format c
    or
    format c:\
    it comes back and says Parameter format not correct

    When it first started it asked if I wanted to boot from the cd-rom I said no, should I have said yes and just started from the cdrom? or what am I doing wrong?
     
  4. xfile47

    xfile47 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,142
    It says I can run fdisk, should I do that and delete any partitions that arre on it cause it would have the NSFT partition for windows xp pro, I just want to do what you said, I want to format the c drive and then just be able to put in the windows 98 cd and put it on. Help please
     
  5. xfile47

    xfile47 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,142
    I used kill disk then reput DOS on and then put windows 98 back on, got it solved, thanks, I will close this thread
     
  6. sockey99

    sockey99

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    For the record the command is "format(space)c: (enter) no back slash.
    Yes, reformat to Fat32.
    Since MS no longer supports Win98se, look for "The UN-Official Win98se Service Pack" at Majorgeeks.com. This has most patches and updates, but only for use on 98se, not 98.

    Good Luck.
     
  7. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/490468

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice