Solved: Windows XP reinstall hangs on "Setup is installing Windows"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ForesterOne

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
10
:mad: I have been trying to load Windows XP back on to my Dell Dimention 4500 computer and only get to the point of "Setup is loading Windows" and it hangs there. When i boot from the hard disk I get PBR2...done, ! PBR and things stop. Any help would be appreciated, I am Stumped
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
Are you booting from the cd or the hard drive?If you are trying to install xp make sure in the boot order that the cd drive is shown and boot from that.then you should see hit any key to boot from the cd etc and go from there.ive never seen pbr mentioned when installing xp.i know that a mbr refers to the master boot record.
 

ForesterOne

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
10
Are you booting from the cd or the hard drive?If you are trying to install xp make sure in the boot order that the cd drive is shown and boot from that.then you should see hit any key to boot from the cd etc and go from there.ive never seen pbr mentioned when installing xp.i know that a mbr refers to the master boot record.

If I boot from the CD it hangs at the "Setup is starting Windows" part of the installation,
If I boot from the Hard drive I get the PBR2...done, ! PBR,
I have been working on this for a while now, I looked at the partition for XP and all it has is F6 in all the bites of the entire table.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,081
Are you using an original CD or a copied CD of Windows XP(Home or Pro or MCE)?

Does it contain any service pack(SP1 or SP2 or SP3)?

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

ForesterOne

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
10
Are you using an original CD or a copied CD of Windows XP(Home or Pro or MCE)?

Does it contain any service pack(SP1 or SP2 or SP3)?

---------------------------------------------------------------
I am using a replacement CD from Dell with Woindows XP Home SP3
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,081
Read the instructions and get familiar with the sequence of images here and see if it helps you.

Assuming you're doing a clean reinstall of Windows XP SP3:

You boot from the CD.

You delete all current partitions.

You create a new C partition and allocate the entire hard drive capacity to it.

You select the new C partition to install XP in.

You format the new C partition in the NTFS file system.

You install XP.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
When it gives you the choice of formatting ntfs the quick way take it otherwise you will be sitting there for about 2 hours watching that yellow bar move. i was given that tip years ago and ive never had a problem installing xp that way. if it wont format using the quick way more than likely the harddrive has problems as ive found out a few times.once the drive was replaced with a new one i was good to go.hopefully this will help someone else avoid that other mindnumbing route.when you go with the quick install you are up and running a lot faster.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,081
I believe that desktop came with a 40 GB hard drive.

If it's still using the original hard drive and hasn't been replaced with a new and larger capacity hard drive, I would run the normal format instead of the quick format.

The normal format won't take very long on a 40 GB hard drive.

---------------------------------------------------------
 

ForesterOne

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
10
I am not sure I unerstand you folks, When I try to installl from the CD I never get to the point where I can delete partitions or format quick or otherwize.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,081
Are you booting from that CD and seeing a Press any key to boot from CD command?

----------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,081
Have you looked at the images in the link that I provided?

Are you seeing Image 1.5?

That's the starting point.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,081
Has the hard drive been replaced in that desktop?

Are you sure that Dell gave you a correct replacement CD?

--------------------------------------------------------
 

ForesterOne

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
10
The hard drive is the original.

I think the replacement CD is correct, I tried annother XP Home recovery CD (without SP1, 2, or 3) and got the same results.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top