Solved: windows xp won't start

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

raylock

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
18
The computer starts to load windows but then defaults to the screen which gives options for safe mode, last known configuration etc. None of the options on that page work and the computer ultimately returns to the same page. I have looked at the startup devices in the Bios and there are three options. Each option is selected in sequence, C Drive, CD-ROM and Diskette. I have tried to boot from a Windows XP Disk. The problem arose when my wife pulled the power plug from the back of the computer, probably with out shutting down windows. But I must admit that has probably been done a hundred times in the past.

The computer is a Compaq Presario 3000. It is about 7 or 8 years old. I believe it was loaded with Windows 2000 when it was new and that I upgraded it to XP. But my memory is fuzzy on that.

Any suggestions? Thanks
 

raylock

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
18
Thanks. As I noted in my origional post, I tried to boot with the Windows XP disk. I don't know how to do a chkdsk/r since I don't know how to get to a point where I can enter a command.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,166
Try..if it will boot from Cd.
Boot from Xp Cd...when prompted press [R]
Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
When prompted for password.
Press Enter.
Type.
chkdsk /r [note space ]
Window will fix errors..
Type Exit
And press Enter
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
720
You'll need to change the boot sequence you refer to in Post#1 so that CD-ROM is set before C (Hard Drive) and Floppy Diskette in order to boot to the XP CD .
 

raylock

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
18
Thanks for the help. I was finally able to boot from the Windows XP disk. I ran the chkdsk /r command and was able to get Windows to load once. I got a message that the page file was missing so I tried to fix that. Now the computer hangs up on the welcome screen. Not sure is this is the same problem or something different.

Ray
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top