1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) WinMe Critical update for WMP ?

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by joe2cool, Feb 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Hi just had to reinstall WINME, on installing updates it came up with a critical security update Q320920 FOR (WINDOWS PLAYER 6.4)

    On installing as it says successful, on checking again the update still appears for needing to be downloaded , even though can be seen installed already when checking installation history ?

    Just wondered if anyone could help me in this situation ?

    THX !!

    :cool:
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did you reboot?
     
  3. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Sure did ! ;)

    :cool:
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Ok, think I'll move you over to other software.......it seems more media player threads get solved there ;)
     
  5. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Cheers !! ;)


    :cool:
     
  6. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Hi just wondered could it be because the version of WMP at moment is 7 & not 7.1...................don't seem to use WMP anymore really but just wondered if there was anyway possible of the update not showing once a scan is done.
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya

    I noticed the same thing. I only have 6.4, as I can't stand the newer versions. I downloaded it twice, but it kept re-appearing.

    One thing you may have noticed, when you were downloading it, was that it never actually installed. The blue bar didn't go across.

    Went back again, and the bar went fully across, so I now have the update. If still no luck, I'll have a little delve :)

    Also, you have to Restart your PC, when its installed. If you don't get the opup option, and it just says Installed, its still not installed yet.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  8. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Hi ! Eddie,
    Firstly congratulations on your 'Moderator' status, well deserved.

    Yes 'am certainly not interested in the the newer versions especially 9.

    I also downloaded twice but still appears for downloading as a critical update.

    Perhaps I'll try again, guess its not a major issue but was very curious, thx ! for your reply

    Take Care
     
  9. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Hi Eddie tried again, but same thing. You are right the blue bar for installing doesn't complete & doesn't ask you to restart your PC either. :confused:

    Yet still shows up in installation history :confused:

    Guess I'll ignore it for the time being,

    Thx ! again ;)


    :cool:
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Thanks about the new status :)

    Well, I got the Restart option, but just tried again, and there it was again. So, I downloaded that one, and its now gone. I hope.

    I'll check back in a few days :)

    eddie
     
  11. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    OK ! Eddie THX ! ;)

    :cool:
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Okay

    Been in there 3 times over the past few days, and after the initial download...again, its not comming up anymore. See if it does for you, and if so, download, and see if it goes away.

    eddie
     
  13. joe2cool

    joe2cool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Hi ! Eddie, did another check & this time didn't show up, so problem solved. ;)

    Thx! Again, still shows up as been installed 3x in history ;)

    Take Care:)

    :cool:
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118572

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice