1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WinXP box not resolving DNS.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jsilva12, Feb 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jsilva12

    jsilva12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    I can only get to an Internet site by putting in the ip address of the site. In a command window, I can not ping www.google.com, but I can ping the IP address. Everything looks right in ipconfig /all. I have my laptop plugged into the same router, and no problems. The ipconfig /all on both machines matches perfectly. Oh...and it's not the router or the cable. It was brought to me to repair with the "can't get on the Internet" complaint. Oh...and as a bonus, the CD-ROM does not work so I can't use any disks in my troubleshooting.

    Gotta love a challenge! :)
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. jsilva12

    jsilva12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Already tried ipconfig /flushdns. No luck. Is there a setting in the registry?
     
  3. tomdkat

    tomdkat Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,141
    Posting the ipconfig /all output here would be a good starting point. :) Also, what security software and firewall are installed? Is a third party firewall being used? Is there more than one firewall enabled?

    Peace...
     
  4. jsilva12

    jsilva12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : toni
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys LNE100TX Fast Ethernet Adapter (LNE100TX v4)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : XX-XX-XX-XX-XX-XX
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : XXX.XXX.1.104
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : XXX.XXX.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : XXX.XXX.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : XX.X.XXX.2
    XX.X.XXX.3
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 05, 2009 3:34:38PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, February 06, 2009 3:34:38 PM

    No virus protection. Windows Firewall (enabled *thank goodness!*). Remember....not my PC. I know better. ;)

    I would install AVG or something, but CD-ROM or Internet. :(
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, with no useful information in the post, it's pretty hard to suggest anything. There is no issue in posting the IPCONFIG results, but removing all the useful information makes the post worthless.
    You said it, hiding all the information does make it a challenge!

    Care to share the version of Windows running on the machine at least?

    Let's assume XP and do a stack repair.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
     
  6. jsilva12

    jsilva12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    "You said it, hiding all the information does make it a challenge!"

    Nice.....

    I will give you whatever information you need. I am new at this posting thing, and I am still trying to figure out what is safe to display.

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-F5-60-E5-3A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 69.4.192.2
    69.4.192.3
     
  7. jsilva12

    jsilva12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Oh yeah...almost forgot...
    Win XP Professional SP2
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    That looks like a good connecton to the router, let's expand the test.


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  9. jsilva12

    jsilva12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    I resolved this issue this morning. There wasa problem with a Microsoft Update. I removed MS Update KB951746 via the control panel, re-booted the PC, and everything is working fine. I am able to ping via DNS name, srf Internet via DNS name, and update all of the new protection software I installed on the machine.

    Thanks for your help JohnWill and tomdkat! :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/797881