1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: !Wired internet connection problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jyces, Dec 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    The problem is, I will randomly lose my connection completely every few hours.The only way to immediately reconnect to the internet once the connection is lost is by repairing connection (via Network and Sharing Center), unplugging & replugging the ethernet cord back into the tower, or restarting the computer. If I do not do any of the following methods, my connection remains lost. I've posted on this forum before, and it was assumed that my internet connection problem was hardware related. Well, after bringing it into the shop twice now, they ran my computer with internet for over 48 hours and never had a problem with the connection, which proved that it was not hardware related (because with my experience, they would of at least has 2-4 disconnections during this period of time). When I called my internet provider several different times, the technicians did not see any problems on there side and claim that it is not a problem with my modem because the other computer that runs off the same connection never gets disconnected (while this one does). I've literally tried everything to fix this problem. Updating all drivers, reinstalling drivers, replacing ethernet cord, running virus scans, changing ports in the modem, and so on...nothing has helped and now, I feel lost. This problem can be extremely irritating at times...I need to find a way to fix this. Can anyone provide help? It would be greatly appreciated...
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    Find your network adapter in Device Manager, right click it and go to Properties. Check under the Power Management tab to see if there's a tick in the "Allow the computer to turn this device off to save power" box. Remove that tick, click Apply and OK your way out. It's hard to believe the answer could be this simple but it's worth a look.
     
  3. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Sorry about the relayed response! I did not expect feedback so soon. After checking the Power Management tab, the "Allow the computer to turn this device off to save power" option was checked, so I unchecked it! I'll report back my findings :)
     
  4. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Nope, did not seem to solve the issue. D:
     
  5. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Anyone else have any advice, or tips to fix my problem?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    Does the ethernet LED go out when the connection is lost?

    Please show the following for when you have a connection and for when is has been lost.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  7. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    It just went out again, and I immediately checked the light on the modem. It remained green, and blinked every 2-3 seconds. When I checked the light on the back on my tower (where the ethernet cable is plugged in), it was green and also blinked every 2-3 seconds. In other words, the lights remained exactly the same when they were disconnected as when I was connected.


    Tests when connection was out:

    IP Configuration

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : User-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireles
    s Device #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-19-DA-DA-FC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-0E-28-0C-2E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::dcbf:4d2a:1f84:8c22%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.11(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 5:13:29 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 03, 2010 5:13:28 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234891022
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-E5-14-48-00-27-0E-28-0C-2E

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:30d9:3a03:bcb8:bddb(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::30d9:3a03:bcb8:bddb%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\User>

    Tests when connection was back:

    IP Configuration

    C:\Users\User>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : User-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireles
    s Device #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-19-DA-DA-FC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-0E-28-0C-2E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::dcbf:4d2a:1f84:8c22%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.11(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 5:13:29 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 03, 2010 6:45:23 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234891022
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-E5-14-48-00-27-0E-28-0C-2E

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:30d9:3a03:bcb8:bddb(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::30d9:3a03:bcb8:bddb%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\User>
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Status of the Lights on the Modem / Router when connected and when disconnected

    Also do the following three PING tests when its all working, post results here and then repeat when disconnects and post the results here


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.2.1
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    All lights on modem remain the same when connection is active/inactive.

    Internet connection active:

    Ping:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\User>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\User>

    Ping Google


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\User>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [173.194.32.104] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 173.194.32.104: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=54
    Reply from 173.194.32.104: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=54
    Reply from 173.194.32.104: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=54
    Reply from 173.194.32.104: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 173.194.32.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 18ms, Average = 16ms

    C:\Users\User>

    Ping 209.183.226.152

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\User>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 50ms, Maximum = 88ms, Average = 70ms

    C:\Users\User>

    Internet Connection Inactive:

    PING:

    C:\Users\User>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 192.168.2.11: Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

    C:\Users\User>

    PING GOOGLE

    C:\Users\User>ping wwww.google.com
    Ping request could not find host wwww.google.com. Please check the name and try
    again.

    C:\Users\User>

    PING 209.183.226.152

    C:\Users\User>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\User>
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    from that information you have lost connection to the router

    what firewall do you have ?
    make and model of PC

    also post a screen shot of device manager

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't know if it has anything to do with the disconnects but those lease times indicate that your router or computer (I think router, but I'm not sure) is living in the past. Suggest you fix the date.
     
  12. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    These tests are actually a bit dated (month or so). I used these on another forum post on here in the past.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    we cant fix with tests from a month or so ago - you need to carry out the test now as things change a lot

    can we see the tests done today please
     
  14. Jyces

    Jyces Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Yes, but this may take some time to get all this information due to the fact that I have been unable to remain on the computer due to school. I'll post asap.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    we have plenty of time here and trying to fix something from a month ago and connected to a different network will be difficult to fix remotely

    i think some more detail on your setup is required
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970659

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice