1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wired one pc lan problems. dns addresses etc..

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Blittzin, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Blittzin

Blittzin Thread Starter

Hi, and thanks in advance for anybody willing to help out a total newb. I'm on cable internet and my ipconfig/all settings seem to not be right. I built a gaming computer hardware is all compatible, clean install of vista, and all drivers, updates etc.... are installed. My addresses don't seem right and I've searched the internet and forums and most questions and posts are for wireless issues. Can anyone look at my ipconfig all report and tell me how to correct them and is everything configured properly. All I have done is try to reset wins and tcp/ip using the net sh command. An example of something not looking right is my preferred dns is a proxy I think. I really am at the end of my rope here. I can post a screen capture if it will help.
    Thanks again.

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see the ipconfig /all
    make and model of the router or the modem you are connected to
    and how everything is actually connected together and ports used etc - so for example if you have a modem and separate router

telephone line ==> (telephone connection) modem (Lan connection ) ==> (internet connection) Router (LAN 3 ) ==> PC
    type of info
    port name etc

------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here