1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wired WinXPSP3 computer not connecting to Internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hb118, Sep 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hb118

    hb118 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I have a home network that uses a DLINK DIR-655 router. All of my devices ( a mix of wireless and wired) except one--a windows xp SP 3 desktop that stopped working yesterday. Some viruses, and adware were detected and it has not worked since then. What I have done.

    1. Run AVG, Ad-aware, and hijackthis to clean up the machine.

    2. Run netsh WINSOCK reset and netsh int ip reset to try to reset the network.

    3. Checked to make sure the wired port was working (plugged one of my laptops into it, and it was fine).

    4. Checked the DLINK for any strange settings---no apparent issues.

    The XP machine gets an IP address and can ping the router and other devices on my network. It will not ping any public sites (although once in a blue moon 1 out of 4 packets is accepted by google). I am not forwarding the DNS on the router (turned that off based on other troubleshooting sites), so I have to manually enter an IP (when i was forwarding, it resolved the public address, but could not connect

    Any ideas or suggestions? Will provide other details if needed.
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi: May we see:
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. hb118

    hb118 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Here you go:



    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DFVXPZF1

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nc.rr.com



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-90-05-DC

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.150.23.101

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.150.23.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.150.23.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61

    209.18.47.62

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 16, 2011 1:35:11 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 23, 2011 1:35:11 PM


    I can ping the router (192.150.23.1) and connect to its admin page with a browser...but no external sites works.
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok.Disable all firewalls,windows default and any third party antivirus site with a firewall,and then may we see the following pings :
    ping 192.150.23.101


    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com

    And you might try another dns server,just as a test.
    https://store.opendns.com/setup/operatingsystem/windows-xp
    And no error messages ?
     
  5. hb118

    hb118 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    For pinging self (192.150.23.101):



    Pinging 192.150.23.101 with 32 bytes of data:



    Reply from 192.150.23.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Reply from 192.150.23.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Reply from 192.150.23.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Reply from 192.150.23.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128



    Ping statistics for 192.150.23.101:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    For Pinging 8.8.8.8 (note the result below of one packet going through is something i get occassionally)



    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:



    Request timed out.

    Request timed out.

    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=54

    Request timed out.



    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 29ms, Average = 29ms



    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:



    Request timed out.

    Request timed out.

    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=54

    Request timed out.



    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 29ms, Average = 29ms

    For Pinging yahoo.com:

    Pinging yahoo.com [72.30.2.43] with 32 bytes of data:



    Request timed out.

    Request timed out.

    Request timed out.

    Request timed out.



    Ping statistics for 72.30.2.43:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),


    (Final note: I also pinged this laptop (IP address 192.150.23.100) from the problem machine with no problem. I then ran the same ping tests on the laptop. The first time I pinged the other computer (101), I got 3 timeouts. I just did it again and all the requests went through.
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Did you try another dns server?
    I would also go to the pc makers web site,download the latest adapter driver for xp
     
  7. hb118

    hb118 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I don't think its a DNS problem, because the same thing happens with direct addressing.

    I can try the adapter driver......

    (update) Updated the network adapter from Dell....No change in results.....
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    The only other thing I could suggest is perhaps a system restore to a point before this started.
    Seems like we/you have tried all the logical things.
     
  9. hb118

    hb118 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Yeah, I was gonna try that, but its not showing me any early restore points....will try again.

    i guess worst case is full reinstall of XP, huh?
     
  10. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Well,one other thing perhaps.
    You might try a antivirus/antispyware scan with another security suite.
    Like:
    Malwarebytes and superantispyware.They are both free and downloadable.
    I'll include the links in a minute.
    http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebyt...4572.html?part=dl-10804572&subj=dl&tag=button

    http://www.superantispyware.com/download.html

    Might turn up something that Avg missed.
    I really hate to say re-install if there is anything else we can do.
    What viruses were detected by avg?Perhaps removed/changed something that should not have been touched.If this happened after the fix,just a thought.
    One of the other things you could do,and this is for info only,won't fix anything,is do a tracert on google.com and/or yahoo.com.
    Will require you to disable the router firewall.
     
  11. hb118

    hb118 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Had tried everything..took the computer to Best Buy and it worked fine. So figured I had something weird going on with my router.

    Reset router...problems continued.

    Finally I removed the small ethernet switch and changed cables and it worked. I had run direct to the computer without the switch once, but the cable must have been bad.

    So it was either a problem with a cable (or two) or the switch.

    Don't need the switch anymore..so leaving well enough alone.

    Thanks for the help, Pedro.
     
  12. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Great.Thanks for the feedback
    You may mark this thread solved using button top left.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1017972

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice