1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wireless card setup

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gmcsierra99, May 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Not understanding why you'd have to put the router cd in to know what it's called :confused:

    You NAMED it? Or if you didn't name it, it's the default as you posted in post 1.

    How about grabbing your user manual for the router and see what web address you need to type in to see the router settings. It's going to be something like 192.168.0.1. If you don't have the manual, use Google.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I took a second look at post one, and it says Belkin54g...is that your router? Or is that one in the neighborhood? As it looks like it has security settings.
     
  3. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    no thats mine.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  5. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    yeah, i set the ecrytion, but someone told me 2 disable it and see if it works. they might've left it at the default name,i wouldnt know.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, you didn't do a good job disabling, as it is still appearing as a secured network.

    Who is "THEY" ??????
     
  7. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    what did you mean by "someone" else? im sorry, i won the card off Ebay. i thought i diabled it?
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    It's the router you have to get to........not the wireless card.

    Do you know how to access the router setup page????????
     
  9. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    ummm, no i dont.
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706

    I posted that suggestion above.
     
  11. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i forgot that i printed something with the Network Name, Network Key, Ecryption etc., i have 3 different keys, do i use the last 1 i printed? i dont know why i made soo many.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    That is a mystery for you to figure out. Try them all, one by one ;)
     
  13. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i have no idea where 2 put the keys in lol, if im still having trouble, im just going 2 call my friend and get him over here/
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    In the wireless settings. View wireless networks, click on the one you say is yours, change advanced settings, on the wireless networks tab, choose your network name again, then properties, and there on the association tab, data encryption set to enabled, there you will type the key in. You may have to uncheck the box that says the key is provided automatically.
     
  15. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i clicked the wireless connections, but 4 some reason it says no wireless networks in range? i think i may have changed something.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/470165

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice