1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wireless card setup

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gmcsierra99, May 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Then change it back.....you might be onto something with the calling your friend over idea ;)
     
  2. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i dont know what i changed, or if i had changed anything, do you know what i should have selected/not selected? and i noticed thatmy router doesnt have the Wireless light on?
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Have you tried powering down the router and modem. Leave them both off for 5 minutes, the power up the modem, then the router.

    Worse case scenario, use a bent paperclip into the reset on the router, that should set it back to defaults with no WEP enabled.
     
  4. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    yeahh, thats what im going 2 do.
     
  5. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    ok, the Wireless lights on now. i put in the CD 4 the router, as if i was re-installing it again, and followed allthe directions. the SSID name was belkin54g, i changed it 2 Home Wireless.
     
  6. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    i got the card 2 work, thanks 4 the help.
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hmmm...Home Wireless...now there is one I'd never think to search for if I were looking to steal bandwith :D


    You can mark the thread solved using the THREAD TOOLS drop down menu.
     
  8. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    lol, yeah im good like that :), you helped me alot, thank you.

    1 more question, why is it running at 11mbps, and not 22?
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can't help you with that one....mine shows 54 :D
     
  10. gmcsierra99

    gmcsierra99 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,611
    alrighty, you have G im guessing, i got B speedbooster, well thank you 4 all you help, take care.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/470165

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice