1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless connection problems on Dell laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ecoughlin, Dec 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Hello,

    So glad I found this forum! I have a Dell Studio 1737 laptop with Windows 7. I've never had a problem connecting with wireless network before now and I've owned this laptop since 2009.

    I can see wireless network but it won't let me connect. Another laptop in our home can connect wirelessly so it's not the router.

    The switch on the side of the computer is enabled.
    The Device Manager says that Ethernet and Dell WLAN wireless card are all working properly and up to date.

    I have no idea what to do now. Everything else on the computer is working fine except that when I tried System Restore, it failed for the last 2 restoration points and that has never happened before.

    Please help!

    Thanks,

    Ecoughlin
    (brand new tech support guy forum member)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all and xirrus screen shot - see below

    try also removing the wireless profiles - see below

    is the wireless security enabled if so, log into the router and remove the security and see if it now connect


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    b]------------------------------------------------------------------------[/b]

    How to remove Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/t109-removing-an-existing-wireless-profile
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to remove Wireless Profiles - for Vista and Windows 7
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    And if you have never connected to this router by wireless make sure MAC Address filtering is disabled.
     
  4. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Ok, I'm going to try your suggestions. Here are my results for ipconfig /all:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Eunice-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : at.cox.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1510 Wireless-N WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-46-A2-FA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9863:82b7:e34c:7f74%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.103(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 10:26:48 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 3:08:12 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201335851
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-0A-0F-08-00-22-19-DF-D2-09
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-19-DF-D2-09
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::41e8:12ea:2a73:42ea%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 10:26:40 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 3:08:13 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251666969
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-0A-0F-08-00-22-19-DF-D2-09
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3448:7aa:e705:1b5e(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3448:7aa:e705:1b5e%18(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.at.cox.net:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    That shows apparently good wireless and ethernet connections to the router. Still any issue(s)?
     
  6. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Here's the WiFi Inspector attachment. I hope it's big enough to see. I am Eunice-PC .

    My laptop is now the hard-wired computer in our house! I'm going to delete the wireless profiles and do the other stuff you recommended and see what happens.

    Thanks for your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with the wireless connected only - would you also do the following ping tests


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.0.1
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    If I delete the wireless network, will all the other computers on this network lose their connection and have to be reconfigured?
     
  9. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Ok, here are my results, wireless only.

    C:\Users\Eunice>Ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 5ms, Average = 2ms

    C:\Users\Eunice>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.227.52] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 74.125.227.52:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 56ms, Maximum = 59ms, Average = 57ms

    C:\Users\Eunice>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 37ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 38ms
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that is showing a good connection to the internet , if you only have wireless working , then something is blocking that connection - can we also see the ipconfig /all
    what firewall do you have or ever had on the PC - dell often come with mcafee - do you have that on with an updated subscription

    lets also try a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    I did the resets but closed the Command Prompt window before I could copy and paste. Sorry! But it did say that it was done successfully after each entry and told me to reboot. So I did.

    I disabled McAfee when I first started having the problems. I have Trend Micro Titanium Security. I haven't disabled that yet but I can.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Guess what???? Wireless connection works!!!! Amazing, thank you so much. :)))

    I'm going to spread the word on my various social networks. Tech Support Guy rocks!

    I am going to remove McAffee, too.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what did you do - disable Trend Micro Titanium Security ?
     
  15. ecoughlin

    ecoughlin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    After resetting the tcp/ip, I just unplugged from the router and checked to see if wireless connection worked and it does.

    I haven't removed McAfee but I'm going to.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030587

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice