Solved: Wireless connection problems on Dell laptop

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
Hello,

So glad I found this forum! I have a Dell Studio 1737 laptop with Windows 7. I've never had a problem connecting with wireless network before now and I've owned this laptop since 2009.

I can see wireless network but it won't let me connect. Another laptop in our home can connect wirelessly so it's not the router.

The switch on the side of the computer is enabled.
The Device Manager says that Ethernet and Dell WLAN wireless card are all working properly and up to date.

I have no idea what to do now. Everything else on the computer is working fine except that when I tried System Restore, it failed for the last 2 restoration points and that has never happened before.

Please help!

Thanks,

Ecoughlin
(brand new tech support guy forum member)
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
can we see an ipconfig /all and xirrus screen shot - see below

try also removing the wireless profiles - see below

is the wireless security enabled if so, log into the router and remove the security and see if it now connect


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
------------------------------------------------------------------------
b]------------------------------------------------------------------------[/b]

How to remove Wireless Profiles
http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/t109-removing-an-existing-wireless-profile
------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to remove Wireless Profiles - for Vista and Windows 7
http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
- Vista/Windows7:
http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
- delete the wireless profiles
Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

Delete the profiles
you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
And if you have never connected to this router by wireless make sure MAC Address filtering is disabled.
 

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
Ok, I'm going to try your suggestions. Here are my results for ipconfig /all:


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Eunice-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : at.cox.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1510 Wireless-N WLAN Mini-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-46-A2-FA
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9863:82b7:e34c:7f74%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.103(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 10:26:48 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 3:08:12 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201335851
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-0A-0F-08-00-22-19-DF-D2-09
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-19-DF-D2-09
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::41e8:12ea:2a73:42ea%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 10:26:40 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 17, 2011 3:08:13 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251666969
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-0A-0F-08-00-22-19-DF-D2-09
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3448:7aa:e705:1b5e(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3448:7aa:e705:1b5e%18(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.at.cox.net:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : at.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
That shows apparently good wireless and ethernet connections to the router. Still any issue(s)?
 

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
Here's the WiFi Inspector attachment. I hope it's big enough to see. I am Eunice-PC .

My laptop is now the hard-wired computer in our house! I'm going to delete the wireless profiles and do the other stuff you recommended and see what happens.

Thanks for your help!
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
with the wireless connected only - would you also do the following ping tests


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping 192.168.0.1
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router the next two
Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet , one by name and one by number which checks that the dns is working

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
If I delete the wireless network, will all the other computers on this network lose their connection and have to be reconfigured?
 

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
Ok, here are my results, wireless only.

C:\Users\Eunice>Ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 5ms, Average = 2ms

C:\Users\Eunice>Ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.227.52] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=53
Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=53
Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=53
Reply from 74.125.227.52: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 74.125.227.52:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 56ms, Maximum = 59ms, Average = 57ms

C:\Users\Eunice>Ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=53
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=53
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=53
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 37ms, Maximum = 40ms, Average = 38ms
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
that is showing a good connection to the internet , if you only have wireless working , then something is blocking that connection - can we also see the ipconfig /all
what firewall do you have or ever had on the PC - dell often come with mcafee - do you have that on with an updated subscription

lets also try a tcp/ip reset

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reboot the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Please note and post back - if you receive the message
Access is Denied

Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
I did the resets but closed the Command Prompt window before I could copy and paste. Sorry! But it did say that it was done successfully after each entry and told me to reboot. So I did.

I disabled McAfee when I first started having the problems. I have Trend Micro Titanium Security. I haven't disabled that yet but I can.
 

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
Guess what???? Wireless connection works!!!! Amazing, thank you so much. :)))

I'm going to spread the word on my various social networks. Tech Support Guy rocks!

I am going to remove McAffee, too.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
what did you do - disable Trend Micro Titanium Security ?
 

ecoughlin

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
13
After resetting the tcp/ip, I just unplugged from the router and checked to see if wireless connection worked and it does.

I haven't removed McAfee but I'm going to.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top