Solved: wireless connection says connected but cant access the internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Unctarheel

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12
My wireless Adapter says I'm connected to the Wirless Network and picks up the wirless router from downstairs, but i can not access the internet

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : preston
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nc.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D3-06-08-EB

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link Airpremier DWL-AG530 Wireless PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-95-87-3D-AA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 85.255.155.38
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 05, 2008 1:53:47 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 06, 2008 1:53:47 PM
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
It appears to be connected to some wireless network, I'd like to see two things.

Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.




Next, I'd like to see the IPCONFIG /ALL from a working computer on the network.
 

Unctarheel

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12
C:\Documents and Settings\Preston>PING 192.168.1.101

Pinging 192.168.1.101 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.101: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.101:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Preston>PING 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Preston>PING 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 36ms, Maximum = 38ms, Average = 37ms



AND HERE IS A WORKING COMPUTER WITH ON THE NETWORK

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Sherlene>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sherlene
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nc.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-N PCI Adapter WMP30
0N
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-F8-30-94-F4
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.25.5.148
24.25.5.147
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 06, 2008 11:13:46 AM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 07, 2008 11:13:46 A
M

PPP adapter {2CF3E7BE-0CBE-4DD2-8CA6-5CAA7BC0C9E7}:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.168.218.253
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 205.188.146.145
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Sherlene>PING 192.168.1.102

Pinging 192.168.1.102 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.102:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Sherlene>PING 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 3ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Sherlene>PING 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 38ms, Maximum = 42ms, Average = 39ms
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,786
The both seem to be connected to the same router but have different DNS servers. Why? If you had shown the requested ping yahoo.com I suspect it would have shown a DNS problem on the "non-working" computer.

What's the PPP connection on the "WORKING COMPUTER"?
 

Unctarheel

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12
The computer that cannot access the Internet, will not allow me to complete the PING yahoo.com

It says: PING REQUEST COULD NOT FIND HOST YAHOO.COM



Here is the ping yahoo.com on the working computer


C:\Documents and Settings\Sherlene>PING yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=52
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 42ms, Average = 40ms


and What and Where do you want me to go for the PPP connection
 

Unctarheel

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12
My firewall settings were off, thought maybe turning them back on will work, but that did nothing.

I took the computer over to a friends house and the internet worked there.
 

Unctarheel

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12
actually i'm not sure, he "said" it worked but i don't know. Could it be the norton security that is messing it up? I'm not able to download the Live Updates and I also haven't been able to update, the windows updates that come up
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
You appear to have overridden the DNS address on the failing computer. Please do this complete setup on the failing computer.


Select Start > Settings > Network Connections.

  • Double-click the Connection icon of the connection you wish to modify to open the Local Area Connection Status window.
  • Click the Properties button to open the Local Area Connection Properties window.
  • Click to highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
  • Click the Properties button to open the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties window.
  • TCP/IP Properties window, IP Address tab
  • Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
  • Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
  • Click OK to return to the Local Area Connection Properties window.
  • Click OK to return to the Network Connections window.
 

Unctarheel

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12
wow and it worked, I really REALLY REALLY REALLY want to thank you for the help. I greatly appreciate it
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
No problem, glad it all worked out. :)

You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.
©
:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top