1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wireless connects but no internet

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by emacrisema, Jan 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. emacrisema

    emacrisema Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I gave my computer to my brother for a day and when I got it back windows 7 stopped connecting to wireless .
    I unninstalled "steam" for counter strike that he installed but that didn't fix it.

    I have an XP installed on the same computer and it connects just fine . Also my smartphone , 2 laptops and an XP computer connect just fine so it's NOT a router problem .

    Most of the times it connects and says "no internet" . Sometimes it says I have internet but when I open chrome or other browser no page opens . But I can open the router page and I don't see my computer in the DHCP list.

    I believe is either something my brother installed , either a virus he got but I don't know how to troubleshoot .
    Anyone knows a tutorial or has some tips ?

    Thank you
     
  2. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    hiya,click on the network icon if its on your desktop,or go to start>network,can you see your pc listed here
     
  3. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    Hello emacrisema and Welcome to TSG.

    The Troubleshoot Problems option in Win 7 can fix many issues if you lack Internet connectivity. Just righr click the Internet connectivity ico down by the clock and click Troubleshoot Problems Best to start simple.
     
  4. emacrisema

    emacrisema Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Yes. My computer is visible in network both on my computer and on another windows 7 computer .
     
  5. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    can you access it when clicking on the icon?
     
  6. emacrisema

    emacrisema Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    It asks for a password so I think that means I can access it. The password must have been put automatically by windows because I don't use networking at all.

    Thank you Lance for welcome and for tip .
    The troubleshooting told me that DNS is not responding .
    I pinged the DNS and responds.

    Sorry for delay but I must boot into XP to reply on forum.
     
  7. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    Try flushing the DNS. Right click the command prompt select Run as Admin and type ipconfig /flushdns
     
  8. emacrisema

    emacrisema Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you Lance. Solved
     
  9. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    Awesome!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved wireless connects
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    756
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083583

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice