1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wireless help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cobrajet84, Nov 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cobrajet84

    cobrajet84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Ihave two computers in the house. One worls just fine connected to the wireless internet the other one hasn't connected since I set the router up. The one that currently doesn't connect did connect with the old router. The computer that currently doesn't connect is an HP Pavillion dv6000 and is running windows vista 32bit. It says it is connectd to the router for local acess only. I have tried everything under the click to repair options and it wont fix it. Also the computer will connect to other neworks such as the wireless at the inlaws house. The router is a cisco linksys e2000. The computer that does connect is a dell inspiron e1505 running vista 32bit also it is also an older computer than the HP. Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,851
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. cobrajet84

    cobrajet84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    thanks for the responses guys. As i did some more research while waiting for responses on here I found that the adaptor on the HP wireless adaptor needed a driver update. I downloaded it onto a jump driver on the other computer and then loaded that onto the HP and it worked.
     
  5. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Glad to hear you got it to work.

    You can go ahead and mark this thread as solved.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026335

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice