Solved: wireless help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cobrajet84

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2011
Messages
2
Ihave two computers in the house. One worls just fine connected to the wireless internet the other one hasn't connected since I set the router up. The one that currently doesn't connect did connect with the old router. The computer that currently doesn't connect is an HP Pavillion dv6000 and is running windows vista 32bit. It says it is connectd to the router for local acess only. I have tried everything under the click to repair options and it wont fix it. Also the computer will connect to other neworks such as the wireless at the inlaws house. The router is a cisco linksys e2000. The computer that does connect is a dell inspiron e1505 running vista 32bit also it is also an older computer than the HP. Thanks in advance for the help.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

cobrajet84

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2011
Messages
2
thanks for the responses guys. As i did some more research while waiting for responses on here I found that the adaptor on the HP wireless adaptor needed a driver update. I downloaded it onto a jump driver on the other computer and then loaded that onto the HP and it worked.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Glad to hear you got it to work.

You can go ahead and mark this thread as solved.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top