1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WIRELESS: It say's I'm connected to the internet, but I'm not!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ipsie7, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I am currently using a home wireless network and various public networks to access the Internet from my Gateway laptop, which runs Windows Vista. A few weeks ago, I tried to connect to the Internet using a DSL connection at a friends house. In an attempt to get a connection, I think I may have inadvertently changed the network settings. I can't seem to get on the internet with wireless. It says that I am connected, but I am not. I have tried "repairing" the connection in Network Connections, which didn't help.

    I have typed out everything I have when I get into IPCONFIG/ALL. My DHCP settings looked good where this website recommended changing them for other clients who have had similar problems. Please help!

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kst-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-2A-CC-81
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled. . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6544:286f:55c6:db0%9<Preferred>
    IPv4 Address . . . . . :192.168.0.102<Preferred>
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 14, 2007 1:19:37 PM
    Lease Expires. . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, Jly 21, 2007 1:36:51 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . . : 234887795
    DHCP Servers . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip:. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : buffalo.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-C4-2B-F7
    DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.buffalo.rr.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.<D1CEBABE-E5F3-4E3A-B62D-97B2B5EB3122>
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.102%12<Preferred>
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e38a:2810:22bd:3f57:ff99<Preferred>
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2810:22bd:3f57:ff99%10 <Preferred>
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . .: Disabled
     
  2. MN_N8VTech

    MN_N8VTech

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Theres a bit more info. thats needed. What type of connection are you connected to NOW? Still a dsl connection? To be on wireless you have to have a router, where youre seeing it say "your connected to the internet, but youre not" thats the wireless connection from the computer to the router, not the internet. Do you know how to log into your router? It would be advisable to log into it and see if you have an IP address from the WAN. Thats where you need to start.
     
  3. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Connected yes, authenticated, no. Check your wireless netwrok settings and make sure your credentials are accurate. Disable IPv6 and this will make some things a little less complicated.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    You seem to be connected. Open a command window and try pinging the router, an internet address and an internet site by name. For example,

    ping 192.168.0.1
    ping 209.131.36.158
    ping www.yahoo.com

    For each, do you get Replies or Packets lost?
     
  5. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Right now I am not able to use my laptop for the internet. I only use wirless at places that have routers with open intnert access... ex coffee chops, my apartment (where I pick up signals from my neighbor), and at school. I go into my network conections and connect to the internet... it says connected, it says the signal strength is excellent, but then I am unable to to open web pages.
     
  6. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    How do I disable IpV6? Sorry, I'm such a newbie with stuff. Thanks for your reply.
     
  7. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    TerryNet, I'll take my computer to the coffee shop tomorrow to try this out. Can you give me a little more specifics on what I need to do for this "ping" thing I need to do? I'm not familiar with it. Again, I'm so sorry I'm a little slow. I'm very grateful that you've replied.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    Open a command window (the same way you did to do ipconfig /all) and then type the three commands I gave. The first ping should be of whatever the Gateway address is, in case you are connected to a different network than when you gave the ipconfig.
     
  9. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Hi! I havent been able to get online for awhile and when I was able to I haven't been able to get on a computer that had Microsoft Works (which is what I pasted my information into!) Apologies, again, for the delay.

    Here is what I got... Please let me know what you think.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\kst>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\kst>ping 209.131.36.158

    Pinging 209.131.36.158 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.131.36.158: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=47
    Reply from 209.131.36.158: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=47
    Reply from 209.131.36.158: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=47
    Reply from 209.131.36.158: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=46

    Ping statistics for 209.131.36.158:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 103ms, Maximum = 107ms, Average = 105ms

    C:\Users\kst>ping www.yahoo.com

    Pinging www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [69.147.114.210] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 69.147.114.210: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=47
    Reply from 69.147.114.210: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=47
    Reply from 69.147.114.210: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=47
    Reply from 69.147.114.210: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=47

    Ping statistics for 69.147.114.210:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 34ms, Maximum = 84ms, Average = 47ms

    C:\Users\kst>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
     
  10. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Also I deselected IPv6 as it was suggested earlier. Let me know if you think this is alright. It hasn't seemed to hurt or help the situation thus far.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,612
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't know why the ping of the router failed, except possibly you weren't connected to a router with that address, or possibly you have a 3rd party firewall permitting access to the internet but not to your LAN???

    But the successful pings show that you have internet access and DNS is working. So, what's the problem now?

    If you can't successfully use a browser, even though you are successfully connected as above try this (and with Vista you need to run the CMD in elevated mode):

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 and Vista.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  12. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Also, make sure you have only one of the two wireless configuration utilities running, preferably the built-in Windows one (IMO).
     
  13. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I'm not sure what that last statement means. How can I go in and turn off any ancillary configurations that I don't want? (Sorry... I'm very new at all this troubleshooting stuff) :-/
     
  14. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    It will be a Service that is running.
     
  15. ipsie7

    ipsie7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    TerryNet, I tried to enter those last commands in elevated mode and it said it worked. However, when I tried to get on the internet the problem still persisted.

    I called Gateway and they recommended I did a System Restore for my settings before the incident... so I went back to June 14th and did the restore... IT WORKED! So now, I am able to get on the internet wireless again! (hooray!)

    It still doesnt exaplin why when I plug in the internet didnt work and it messed everything up... but at least I can get back online. ;)

    Just thought I would let you know incase you have any other Vista users with this problem. :eek:)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596534

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice