1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wireless keeps dropping out

Discussion in 'Networking' started by scorpiopearl, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scorpiopearl

    scorpiopearl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hi ,

    My laptop acer wireless keeps dropping out, I have other laptops and computer connected wireless and they never dropp out , i put the ethernet cable in and works fine, Is there a way to see if the wireless connection on the laptop is faulty and needs replacing , I run windows 7

    My router is with virgin and sometime this laptop can never find it but can other networks in the same road

    However if i turn my laptop on and of a few times the wireless comes back on ,
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,951
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are you saying that the wireless adapter loses power? If so, it is defective. Or, if a USB adapter, it may be a problem with the USB port. Of, if an integrated adapter it may be a problem with the switch.
     
  3. scorpiopearl

    scorpiopearl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    not sure if it loses power , it is the wireless within the laptop , havn't been able to get it back on now all day having to use the ethernet cable , does this mean my wireless card is faullty
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,951
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 8 or 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,083
    First Name:
    James
    To add when you do see the wireless connection, what signal strength does it show?
     
  6. scorpiopearl

    scorpiopearl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
  7. scorpiopearl

    scorpiopearl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    To add when you do see the wireless connection, what signal strength does it show?

    answer to above question , when the wireless connection works the signal strength is strong ,

    I am currently having to use the cable as cant get the wireless to work ,
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,083
    First Name:
    James
    The links are for your Ethernet (wired) connection. That does not help us.

    Run the Xirrus once you see the network. In the mean time, what icons do you see in Change Adapter Settings?
     
  9. scorpiopearl

    scorpiopearl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    dont understand change adapter settings and i can only run via ethernet cant get wireless on at all so looks like unable to run test but thanks for your time guys have a good day
    Many thanks for trying
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,083
    First Name:
    James
    Change Adapter Settings is in the Network and Sharing Centre -- the same screen in your second screenshot. I assumed you knew so that was my error.
     
  11. scorpiopearl

    scorpiopearl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    hi guys

    cheers for the help , it had come lose inside the computer got it all fixed now thanks,
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086553

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice