1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless Linksys not connected

Discussion in 'Networking' started by WonderfulPete, Oct 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. WonderfulPete

    WonderfulPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    OK, I have a desktop running XP with a Linksys Wireles G card that isn't connecting to (or detecting) any network

    I have a Linksys Wireless Router/Modem downstairs and a laptop w/wireless card that connects through the same router.

    The Laptop connects fine.

    A few weeks ago I was trying to network both computers together as to share files. Before this, the desktop was connecting with no problems. I think I may've changed a workgroup name (as to enable sharing) and since then I cannot connect.

    I have tried many things including uninstalling the driver in device manager.

    Under Network Connections there are 3 icons.

    1394 Connection 3 - connected - 1394 Net Adapter
    1394 Connection 4 - Disabled 0 1394 Net Adapter #2
    Wireless Network Connection 3 - Not Connected - Linksys Wireless G PCI Adapter

    If I click Repair on the Linksys Icon is says
    "Windows could finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed. Disabling the wireless network adapter. Make sure your network adapter is properly installed."

    Hopefully this is something simple as one day it was there then it wasn't. Simple steps please. Thanks.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    You're saying that the desktop used to connect wirelessly, but now can not detect any network?

    Have you checked for a loose antenna on the router or PC? Still no detect when the PC and router are close?

    Are you using the Linksys utility or Windows XP's WZC to manage the connection? And are you sure that the other one is not running?
     
  3. reezin14

    reezin14

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    That's what it sounds like to me, a conflict. You should disable one then see if you can connect.
     
  4. WonderfulPete

    WonderfulPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Terrynet - yes, Desktop is wireless and was connecting fine but now not detecting anything

    No loose antenna's on either router or card on pc. There's no way I can move the pc closer to the router but that really isn't an isssue as it's been fine for the longest time now after adjusting some settings is no longer.

    I don't know what WZC is but I am not using a linksys connection program so XP it is.

    I disabled the laptop to make sure there wasn't a conflict and there doesn't seem to be as that didn't change anything.

    If I try to disable the Linksys connection on the desktop or the 1394 connected also on the desktop I get this message "It is not possible to disable the connection at this ime. This connection may be using one or more protocols that do not support plug and play, or it may have been initiated by another user or the system account."
     
  5. MySeN

    MySeN

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Have you checked in the router settings that it is broardcasting? That has fooled me a few times. To check conntect to your router 192.168... and look for something like 'Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID) '

    MySeN
     
  6. MySeN

    MySeN

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    oh and windows firewall can also stop connections, a way to tell is by looking at your connections and if it says firewalled then that's the problem.
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Wonderfull"re wzc

    start/run type in services.msc

    At the bottom of the displayed services will be wireless zero config.
    See if that is enabled.

    Can you connect the desktop wired to the router or can you connect

    Have tried resetting the router to default config.
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    My post 7 should have included can you connect directly to the modem and get net.

    Also model # s of router and card would be helpful
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    You might try uninstalling the driver again, shut down the PC and physically remove the wireless card. Reinsert it, in another slot if possible. If it is still not detecting networks after reinstalling it I'm thinking that it has died.
     
  10. WonderfulPete

    WonderfulPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    OK, I've been real busy with work as late - so that's why the long time in replying.

    I checked the router settings and all look fine there.

    The firewall isn't enabled and isn't a factor here.

    The WZC checked out fine.

    The # of the card is wmp54g and the router/modem is wcg200.

    Here's the most important part though. I did open up the pc to remove the card. There was some kind of 'substance' on the back of the card. There was mouse crap in the corner of the case too so I'm guessing it's some kind of gunk left by rodents. (This was from having the computer in a previous house with mouse problems - no longer at this abode) I brushed off the build up - it was crusty like old honeycomb. Hopefully this is why the card isn't reacting (I did insert it in a different pci slot and still the same problem). But the card WAS detected when I restarted and I was taken through the regular prompts and installed the drivers. Could the card be dead even though it was detected like everthing was fine?
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Note that you can actually wash the card, as long as you dry it throughly after the bath.
     
  12. WonderfulPete

    WonderfulPete Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    I tried washing it but to no avail. In the end I bought another card and lo and behold problem solved. It's just odd that after adjusting some setting the card suddenly gives out - bad timing but now all is good. Thanks for all your advice!
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I guess it didn't take to the laundry! :D
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/644431