Solved: Wireless lost after update

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

guyathome

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
21
Hi all
Hope you are able to help point me in the correct direction
I have a Sony Vaio. I needed to reinstall windows 7 do to a failed hard drive. After all the system was installed i had all networking options---lan and wireless. Today windows did the service pack 1 update and after restart i lost all ability to use wireless. I have tried system restore, removed updates and reloaded all network and wireless drivers from Sony. I have checked that wireless works-- this post!! The wireless is turned on.
I have checked device manager and it does not show any wireless under the network adapters

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 6125 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 410M, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 76216 MB, Free - 46231 MB;
Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO
Antivirus: None











I appreciate all the help


Cheers
Rob
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
make sure the wireless is switched on

can we see a device manager and an ipconfig /all

often windows updates also does a generic driver update

whats the exact model of the Vaio

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

For Windows 8
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R

Now type CMD

Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager

Please Post back the results in device manager as requested below

You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

how to access device manager for different windows versions
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

If the above does not work then

For Windows 7 or Vista
Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
or
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
For Windows 8
If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm
Once you are in device manager then navigate to:

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
are there any yellow ! ? or a X​

post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window.
For Windows XP
Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
For windows Vista or Windows 7
you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/
For Windows 8
you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
>Press the Esc. key.
>go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
>Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,163
Did you get Windows 7 up-to-date (including SP1 and the important/recommended updates) and have all devices working before you installed a bunch of programs, add-ons, etc.?

Hard Drives: C: Total - 76216 MB, Free - 46231 MB
Not to get off the subject of your issue, but why did you install such a small capacity hard drive?

---------------------------------------------------------
 

guyathome

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
21
Flavalee
The updates did automatically. I have not loaded any other programs on the laptop yet as i just loaded win7. Its a small hard drive because that's all i had extra. the current 750gb went crappers. I am ordering a new SSD and will reload when that arrives.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,163
Hard Drives: C: Total - 76216 MB, Free - 46231 MB
Your log is showing about 30 GB of used space (which is a lot of used space for just having done a clean reinstall), so I assumed that you had already installed several programs, add-ons, etc. in it.

I am ordering a new SSD and will reload when that arrives
Since you're planning to do another clean reinstall after the new hard drive arrives, do you still need help from Wayne, and have you completed his previous instructions?

--------------------------------------------------------
 

guyathome

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
21
Here is the info you need


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-84-3C-F1-5E-8D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c580:6b16:cc96:853b%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.24(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 02, 2015 12:35:58 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 02, 2015 1:35:58 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 293110844
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-56-1E-CC-78-84-3C-F1-5E-8D
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.59.144.17
64.59.150.133
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{634D75E2-3D07-4DE2-B262-CAF69B0997AD}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:2c2d:3f23:3f57:ffe7(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c2d:3f23:3f57:ffe7%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
you need the driver for the network controller

make and exact model of the PC
also do the following

------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to identify hardware in Device Manager

right click on the device with a yellow!

from the menu choose
properties
Click on the Details Tab
Under the Property - drop down
Select hardware ids
Right click and select all
Then right click again and select copy
Copy and paste that information here

You should see a code similar to this

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

please reply with the full code for your device(s)

The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

Vendor ID = 8086
Device ID = 008A

Post back those two numbers make sure we know which is vendor ID and which is device ID

These codes can be looked up at this site http://www.pcidatabase.com/

As an example the link for that database tells us that;
Vendor ID code 8086 is for this vendor - Intel Corporation
Device ID code 008A is for this device - Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030


Unknown Device Identifier enables you to identify the yellow question mark labeled Unknown Devices in Device Manager.
http://www.zhangduo.com/udi.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

guyathome

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
21
Sorry for not including

VPCEH27FD

PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002B&SUBSYS_E037105B&REV_01
PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002B&SUBSYS_E037105B
PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002B&CC_028000
PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002B&CC_0280


Vendor 168C Atheros
Device 002B Atheros AR5b95

Thanks for the help Wayne
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,163
It's not an executable file that you can simply double-click and start the install process.

You need to go into the Device Manager and select the driver update feature for that network controller and then browse to that saved list of files and then install the driver.

If you're not experienced with installing a driver by this "back door" method, see if you can get someone to help you do it.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,407
... browse to that saved list of files ...
Not positive, but I think that you have to first extract the files to a (new) folder, and browse to that folder of extracted files.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,163
According to his image in post #10, it looks like he's already extracted the contents from that ZIP file.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
> Start Globe
> Control Panel
> System and maintenance
> Scroll down to Device manager
> network adaptors, click on the + >
> Right click on the Adapter
> click on Update Driver Software...
> click on Browse my computer for driver software
> let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
> Have Disk
> click on the Button Browse...
> Locate the folder you extracted the zip folder and highlight the .inf file
you should see two files with .inf
32Bit netathr.inf
64Bit netathrx.inf
 

guyathome

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
21
Well i tried everything that was listed a few others that i searched and decided to just throw that card away and get a new Intel card---- swooosh done.. Thanks for all the help from all.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top