Solved: wireless network not connecting....HP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hpmess

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
14
I know this question has been asked before. specifically for me, i just changed the hard drive on my hp compaq nc6220, windows xp. i went to hp.com and installed 3 drivers: broadcast wireless LAN driver, broadcast wireless LAN network adaptors user interface, broadcast wireless LAN network adaptors drivers for window xp. rebooted, still can't connect to wireless connection; click on icon - no wireless networks in range. before i changed hard drive, i was only using library and barnes/nobles for connecting to internet/ wireless; i do not have a modem, router, isp - just use store/library. I am able to connect using an ethernet cable and connecting to library wall/ connection. wasn't at first but then ran a winstock code or something and it worked for ethernet connxn. appreciate the help!

cmd prompt:
- node type: unknown
- ip routing enabled: no
- WINS proxy enable: no
- broadcom netxtreme gigabit ethernet
- dhcp and autoconfig enabled: yes
- media state: media disconnected
- numbers/ address present for all of: ip address, subnet mask, default gateway,dhcp server, dns servers,
- description: broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
What wireless utility (XP's WZC, HP's, Broadcom's) are you using? Are you sure that no other one is running?
 

hpmess

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
14
hi Terry. not sure what you mean by wireless utility. i put up a thumbnail with info in original posting. maybe it says it there. how would i determine that? thanks for your input.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
hi Terry. not sure what you mean by wireless utility.
He wanted to know the name of the wireless driver installed. which is Broadcam. Basically he wanted to see if you're running wireless and broadband which can cause a conflict.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Ha "2" you mean I meant to give you the link in my first response but i hit backspace and had to do it all over again! :p
 

hpmess

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
14
will do tomorrow. tried the steps in the first message but the terminology threw me. will follow up tomorrow. this is a real pain!!! thanks again for your input, fellow ny'r.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Yes it can be! lol it might just be a missing driver. After you show us what drivers you have with that program I gave you and you show us all running networks it can help us find out the problem.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
My first question should have been: is the wireless switched on? Is it?

I say 'wireless utility,' some people say 'wireless client'; it's a program for managing wireless connections. Looking at that link VictoriaiiCe gave it appears that HP has one (don't know if it really controls connections or just controls off/on) and Broadcom has one. And, of course, XP has its Wireless Zero Configuration (WZC). WZC runs as a service (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services). If you have more than one running they will conflict and drive you crazy.
 

hpmess

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
14
Victoria - when i put in the url, it forwards to safe-install.com. Is that the right page i should be on? There are multiple downloads available. Thanks.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Since she later mentioned possible "missing driver" surely she meant the 'Unknown Device Identifier 6.01' program. :)
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Victoria - when i put in the url, it forwards to safe-install.com. Is that the right page i should be on? There are multiple downloads available. Thanks.

Ok I just wanted to double check you're Print Screen was cut off and I wanted to see if you had any drivers conflicting eachother but that's not the case. It's not a driver issue..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top