1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless Network Problem with REALTEK rtl8185 and Windows 7

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mn101, Jan 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mn101

    mn101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I have recently bought a new computer, and put in myself a REALTEK rtl8185 Wireless LAN Network Adaptor. I originally had a 32 bit version of Windows Vista, but upgraded to the 64 bit Windows 7; I could connect to the internet on Windows Vista, but not the 64 bit version of Windows 7. I know that this adaptor has some proplems with the 64 bit version of Windows 7, but I'm also sure that it can work.

    In Windows 7, it has managed to connect to the network, but is unable to connect to the internet.

    The device manager claims that everything is working correctly, and there are no issues. I have tried uninstalling the wireless router and letting Windows re-install it, to no avail. I have a NETGEAR Wireless-G Router WGR614 v9, and know this works, as I am connected to it on my laptop, as I write this message.

    If you want me to supply any more information, I will be happy to do it.

    Thank you for any help that you can give me,

    Matthew
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    I would make sure that the driver you have is for your operating system(64bit w7)
    In device manager for your adapter,pull off the driver details to see what driver it is using.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  4. mn101

    mn101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    That driver that you have recommended - RTL85n64.sys is the one that is currently installed according to Device Manager. However, on inspection, that does say that it is for Windows Vista, and not 7. I'm not sure how much of an issue that would be.

    I have been looking for some time for a Windows 7 version of the driver, and there are links on some sites, but many of them don't work.

    It seems odd that I can connect to the router, but not to the internet.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, many Vista driver work for Windows 7, which is why I recommended it. The key part is the 64 bit driver, at least that's what my experience has been. I had the early Windows 7 64-bit beta before many drivers were available, so I was using many Vista drivers for all sorts of devices.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,648
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  7. mn101

    mn101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Matt-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
    Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-1D-C3-98-ED
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireles
    s Device
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-3B-14-5F-22
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::646b:40a7:a4ec:c030%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.192.48(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201331003
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-CE-7A-05-00-24-1D-C3-98-ED
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F036F4E4-CB19-4515-8423-6D6ED4FEAC1F}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Can you connect with a wired connection to this computer?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,648
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your wireless is not communicating successfully with the router--it was unable to obtain an IP configuration. In addition to trying the ethernet connection disable encryption on the router and try to connect that way. Please show another ipconfig /all for those (attempted) connections.
     
  10. mn101

    mn101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Unfortunately, I cannot connect through wires, my computer is in a different room to the phone line.

    However, I have finally succumbed and bought a USB wireless adaptor, which seems to be working fine. I imagine the PCI adaptor must just have problems with the computer being 64 bit.

    I've also heard that Netgear have a lot of compatibility issues with Windows 7, so it could be something to do with this as well.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's another way to solve the issue. :)

    Sorry you couldn't get the other one working...
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/890721

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice