1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless Network Times Out

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Padishar, Feb 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Padishar

    Padishar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Wireless Router: Linksys WRT54G2
    Encryption: WEP

    I had just got my HDMI cables and new monitor for my PS3 and hooked everything up. Everything was working fine: I could go online on my PC, and then change the monitor input and be online on my PS3.

    In the morning, however, I could not connect to the wireless network with my PC or PS3. In Windows it just times out on the first step. Testing the internet connection in the PS3 fails on the first step as well. My landlord (who owns the router) said that he could not get on the internet either.

    After uninstalling and reinstalling my wireless adapter (D-Link DWA-552) in my PC, all the saved network settings were gone, and instead of just timing out when trying to connect to the network, it then gave an error message after a few seconds. The message was something like "Windows cannot connect to the wireless network." After entering the setting and key for the network, it went back to just timing out trying to connect.


    Any ideas would be appreciated.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    If nobody has internet access perhaps the ISP is down or there is a problem somewhere before (towards the ISP) the router. Has anybody checked for this yet?

    If also nobody can connect to the router the router is probably sick or dead. Reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure it.
     
  3. Padishar

    Padishar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    I just asked my landlord about it and it seems that he and the other tenant both have the internet back and are experiencing no problems. It seems only my PC and PS3 are still affected.

    I thought it might be interference between the two, so I unplugged and removed the PS3 from the room. Still nothing. I've done a system restore to the day before the problems started with no luck.



    Error messages:
    [when trying to connect to the network] Please wait while Windows connects to the 'Agnes' network.
    Waiting for the network...

    [when trying to access the router in a browser] Connection Interrupted. The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading. The network link was interrupted while negotiating a connection. Please try again.

    ipconfig /all results:
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    E:\Documents and Settings\G Man>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : blackmesahive
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-58-47-79-3E

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DWA-552 XtremeN Desktop Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-5B-55-1A-56

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : ?
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    Try these ...

    Start - Run - ipv6 uninstall - OK

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. Padishar

    Padishar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    I have it working now after my landlord gave up and created a new network from scratch.

    This was after calling Sony (which just got me to do a PS3 system restore), Linksys (which wanted the router serial number), and Shaw who knew it wasn't their fault but offered suggestions anyway. Shaw was the most helpful.

    (I tried those netsh run commands before and they didn't work).
    Thanks for your efforts, though.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/804339