1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless not working in my Linksys WAG160N (screenshots)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by KeyStroke, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Hi there,

    I bought a new Linksys WAG160N modem which is working great, but the wireless for some reason isn't working properly. My iPod Touch can connect to it, but can't use the internet, and my laptop can't connect at all!

    Here are the settings:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    and I'm using regular WEP encryption.

    Is there anything wrong with these settings? I know nothing about wireless stuff, so hopefully you can help me out...


    Appreciate your help :)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
    PC
    i would make sure the firewall is not blocking on the PC
    turn of secruity and try and connect
    post an ipconfig /all here
    change channel to 1, 6 or 11

    touch
    does it come up with server not found
    this may be due to the DNS settings for the touch
    try using these 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220. for the DNS settings

    ipconfig /all

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  3. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Ok channel 1 doesn't exist, so I've tried to connect on both channels 6 and 11, but I still couldn't connect (laptop).

    Here are my ipconfig results (while disconnected):

     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is it on vista
    The IP address 169.254.x.x means the card cannot detect the network

    So a firewall may be blocking

    has the wireless ever worked OK
    can you try connecting by Cable to the PC

    the screens do not really show all the router settings
    Have you set up DHCP on rthe router
    whats the setting for the default gateway IP - often some thing like 192.168.0.1 - on the router may also be 192.168.1.1
     
  5. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    - Yes it is on Vista, and I've disabled the Windows firewall before attempting to connect.

    - my gateway IP is 192.168.1.1, and I have DHCP enabled there.

    - I've used wireless on my laptop previously with my old modem with no problems.

    any idea what the problem could be?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,525
    First Name:
    Terry
    Disable encryption and try to connect that way. If successful you should be able to re-enable encryption and reconnect.

    Why aren't you using WPA or WPA2?
     
  7. KeyStroke

    KeyStroke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Yup! works now!! I've disabled and re-enabled encryption.

    Why did this happen though in the first place?


    Thanks a lot TerryNet and etaf. I appreciate it guys. :)
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,525
    First Name:
    Terry
    Don't know; wasn't there when it happened. :) Seriously, I think that there are several glitches that can cause this. The only possibility I can definitely point to is that maybe you initially entered an incorrect key. The procedure I suggested in not satisfying in a technical sense, but is often the quickest and surest way to get Wi-Fi working.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/758698

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice