1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless problem!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by icecream12345, Dec 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hello,

    I have not been able to use wireless on my laptop for the past 3 days. I've tried almost anything but it still isn't working.
    Windows IP Configuration

    Here is my ipconfig

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Justin-Thinkpad
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #
    2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-77-03-89-AD-61
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Ultimate-N 6300 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-77-03-89-AD-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4d89:d7ce:6b71:f107%18(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.11(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 371488515
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-6A-F8-4C-00-21-CC-C2-42-5E

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    216.104.72.5
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82579LM Gigabit Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-CC-C2-42-5E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FB5ADDB3-9899-4697-99BE-3A0B13DD52B8}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{87AE74AB-897C-4DBE-A32B-9A5606E7CA75}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {8FC710BA-7F17-4CDB-890E-D94378ACDC46}:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Right now, I am connected to an unidentified network and have no network access. And it says that I have "limited access"
    please help and happy holidays
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,410
    First Name:
    Wayne
    moving to network forum

    you are using a fixed IP - did you change that and need to use a fixed IP - most domestic routers use DHCP

    you could try setting to automatic
    Setup to Automatically get IP and DNS
    WINDOWS 7
    ---------
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Windows 7
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Change-TCP-IP-settings
     
  3. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I think that did it! It works now! THANK YOU
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,410
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  5. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    maybe it was a false alert. I thought it was working but after I went to do something else and came back, the connection was spazzing out again going from "identifying" to "disconnecting". IM SORRY! but are there any other solutions?
     
  6. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,
    Because I didn't know what else to do, I've been looking around the forum and found that you guys want this a lot of times so I downloaded and ran xirrus if that would help.

    Also, my windows network diagnostics says
    Wireless network connection doesn't have a valid IP and that there is a problem with wireless adapter or access point
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,410
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the graph does not look very good the signal appears to be changing - OR did you move the PC to a different location

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    and it worked for a while on automatic connection

    does it work connected by cable to the router - with that set to automatic ?
     
  8. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Yes it works when it is connected to the router and also yes the signal changes. I didn't move the laptop :(
    I don't use any firewall/security or anti-virus. Norton might have come with the laptop but it's been a long while since I deleted it I think.

    Actually I have Malwarebyte but I downloaded that after I started having problems
     
  9. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I think the change in signal indicates going from "identifying" to "disconnected"
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,410
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    oh wow okay. so I've tried power cycling but someone suggested that I should try pressing the reset button on my router until it reboots so I tried it and it actually worked. Thank you so much for your help!
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,410
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082466

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice