Solved: Wireless Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
Hi, I've recently moved and my laptop is not connecting properly to the new wireless network in the house where i live (its an AOL box). It has connected fine before to two other wireless networks (including one that was secured with a WEP key).

When I click on 'connect to wireless network' it tells me to enter the WEP key which I have done and it then tells me I'm connected to the network with an excellent signal strength. However, when i bring up internet explorer it doesn't work and permanently says at the bottom of the page that it is 'looking up' the webpage and it then brings up an error message.

I don't think anything is wrong with my internet explorer because i am currently accessing the internet using an olitec powerlan usb connecter (due to my wireless not working) and that works fine. I want to be able to use the wireless though as the powerlan usb connecter is somewhat slow.... any suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

By the way, this is what i get when i run IPCONFIG /ALL:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Philippa>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pip
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D4-1E-9A-61

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-88-02-32
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.171
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.0
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

C:\Documents and Settings\Philippa>
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
198
my guess is ask your new isp what the prefered dns is and change it to that.
you could test this by trying to ping www.yahoo.com by name and then by ip address. If it doesnt work by name and does work by numberical address its more than likely the dns entry.
 

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
It doesn't seem to be replying to either the word form or the numerical form - this is what i got when i tested it:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Philippa>ping www.yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host www.yahoo.com. Please check the name and try ag
ain.
C:\Documents and Settings\Philippa>ping 87.248.113.14
Pinging 87.248.113.14 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Ping statistics for 87.248.113.14:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
C:\Documents and Settings\Philippa>

It also says 'request timed out' when I try to ping my own ip address - any other suggestions as to what it might be? thanks
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
52
why are you wanting to connect to a 'home' wireless network with a static IP... it works just as good to let DHCP handle your IP. Take out the Static ip address you have and use DHCP and see what happens...
techjed
 

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
I've enabled DHCP instead of a static ip and now it no longer says the wireless is connected (which it used to even though it wasn't connected) and instead it permanently says 'acquiring network address' with a little yellow ball moving across the wireless symbol at the bottom of the page - is there anything different about connecting to an aol wireless box because as i said, its worked fine before with other connections? any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
52
In a home network it is best to use DHCP, you've almost got it.

Do you have an AOL wireless router? or AOL DSL? How is your set up??? ( modem, router, computer?)
 

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
Its an aol (box) wireless router with a WEP secured wireless network. Basically, the family im staying with have a wireless router and they only use laptops with it and it seems to work fine for them so i know its not the router thats the problem - will get there soon hopefully (thanks for the help by the way, im pretty useless at computer related stuff)
 

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
p.s. not sure what u meant by 'how is your set up?' - im afraid i might need a bit more explanation
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
52
NO! thats just fine... that's what i wanted to know!... did you try to right click on your wireless icon and click 'repair' ? try that and see if that helps or what the error is...

techjed
 

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
Just tried it and it comes up with the repair box thats says it disables the connection and then re-enables it but after that it permanently stays on the message that says 'renewing your ip address' and i had to cancel it in the end because it just stayed like that....
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
52
disconnect from the "network" and reconnect and give the WEP password once more... (if it even ask)
techjed
 

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
I just did that (had to give the WEP password again) and this time it said it had connected rather than 'acquiring network address' but the internet still won't connect when i try and load a webpage. my skype also isnt working so i know thats its not connected even though its saying it permanently is...

This is what i got from doing 'ipconfig /all' again:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Philippa>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pip
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D4-1E-9A-61
Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-88-02-32
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.138
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24 September 2008 19:16:10
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25 September 2008 19:16:10
C:\Documents and Settings\Philippa>

Also, when i tried to ping my own ip address the request timed out again...any further ideas?! thanks

P.S. a minute ago i just tried disconnecting and reconnecting again (just to try one more time!) and its now saying its got limited or no connectivity - im so confused....
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
52
it's ok lol they have confused me plenty of times,

i dont think you should have a DNS server... navigate back to where you set it to DHCP and make sure there is no check for the 'DNS' part at the bottom...

after that, try this... Disconnect from the network... restart the machine, log one, connect (once again) and see if it works...


ALSO is this laptop running XP or Vista or what???
techjed
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Your previous IPCONFIG showed a good connection to a wireless network.



Try this stack reset.



TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
 

littlephyllis

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
8
its working now!! thanks v.much for all the help - am rather relieved i can use my wireless again :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top