Solved: wireless/router says it's connecting but not actually connecting

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

klod key

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
9
I'm trying to use a router to establish a wireless connection with a machine running XP Home Edition, Service Pack 2. I've connected successfully in the past with other machines (including now, as I write this), so it doesn't seem to be the router or the modem that's the problem. What's more, it's not XP, since there's another machine that can connect fine.

So, I'm stumped. I've contacted both my ISP and the manufacturer of the router, but not much help there.

Any thoughts? The machine sees the wireless connection fine, will attempt to connect and will actually say that it was successful in connection -- but there's no access to the internet and the status is actually limited or no connectivity.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

klod key

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
9
Thanks for the help. Here it is, via another machine.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Manny>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D8M0Z9B1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-22-AB-F8-AC

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-95-8D-1B
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,272
First Name
Terry
If you are using ZoneAlarm see the sticky thread at the beginning of this forum.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.

If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?

If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

klod key

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
9
John,

Modem - Motorola SB5100
Router - Microsoft Base Station MN-500
Wireless connection using a WEP key (see below for more info), but have also tried wired which works fine whether cabled directly into router or modem.
XP-Home, SP-2

Late last night my roommate (it's his machine) was fiddling around and went through the Create New Home Network on Network Connections. Something in the course of doing this enabled the computer to see the router, and set up a separate dialog/selection in the list along with Wireless and LAN connections. He then had internet access. When he brought it to show me, however, it disappeared, and we were back to square one: no router appearing on the Network Connections, only Wireless and LAN selections, and the same problem with computer trying to connect, taking a long time and saying it was successful, but actually no dice. It occurs to us that maybe the computer is somehow bypassing the WEP key and trying to connect as though it could get the key automatically. (The box for entering the WEP key is unchecked and the WEP key is entered. Only hexadecimal).

Let me know if you still need the results of the PING, etc.

Thanks for your help.
 

klod key

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
9
Also, this is the only computer that's affected. The others, including one running XP, seem to recognize the WEP key since they connect no problem.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
 

klod key

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
9
Yippee!

Thanks mucho, John. It seems to have worked. You're a genius -- and a genius.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Sometimes even a blind squirrel finds an acorn. :D

You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page in the upper left corner.
©
:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top