1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wireless slows right down when only 3 metres away from modem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by azzatempo, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. azzatempo

    azzatempo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,
    My laptop connects and has excellent strength throughout my whole home but my internet slows down when i move only three metres away from my modem.
    I have been sent a new modem, changed wireless channels and troubleshooted with my network provider but still no luck.
    Please help :)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you can be too close to a router and have an effect on the signal , but 3 meters should be OK - 2-3ft can be an issue

    can we see an xirrus screen when its an issue
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. azzatempo

    azzatempo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    This screen shot was taken about 5 metres from my modem where it slows right down. the only time i can browse is when right next to the modem....
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. azzatempo

    azzatempo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I've taken two screen shots. One close to modem and the other is around 5 metres from it.
    It stopped working only a month ago, before that it was a strong signal throughout my whole house. And there isn't anything new in the house that could be blocking it, so i'm really not sure haha.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,504
    First Name:
    Terry
    The signal strength variance indicates a serious problem with the router, adapter or adapter's driver.

    Make sure you have the latest driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site. If you already have that driver reinstall it anyhow in case the installed instance is corrupted.

    If you can easily access the adapter through a cover on the laptop's bottom remove and carefully and firmly replace it several times to cure any possible looseness or corrosion. Make sure the antenna leads are secure.

    Can you test the network with another device or test the PC with another network?
     
  7. azzatempo

    azzatempo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Well, I bravely took a cover off the back of the laptop and by how you described it, i think one of the antenna wires had come off. All good now anyway.
    Thanks heaps man :)
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,504
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)

    I think that's two loose antenna wires in the past week. We're on a roll, Wayne!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083671

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice