1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless through Ethernet NIC?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jab951, May 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jab951

    jab951 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    I was reading this thread on the steam forums and I know I have a realtek ethernet nic in my pc. I also have bad performance in tf2

    My pc is connected to the internet through my wireless network though, which makes me think the above fix wouldn't work for me. Am I right, or does my wlan card interact with the realtek ethernet nic?

    BTW, I'm posting here because most people on the steam forums don't seem to know what their talking about, at least when it comes to hardware.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,681
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i will move to networking, you may get more response - see what the gurus in that forum have to say, other forum which may be useful is Games - but we can move there later - see how the Network forum goes first
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,315
    First Name:
    Terry
    It certainly wouldn't hurt to have the correct ethernet driver installed, but I'd concentrate on the wireless as long as that's what you are going to use. Make sure you have the latest correct driver for it.

    Post a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  4. jab951

    jab951 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    106
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,315
    First Name:
    Terry
    That set of networks doesn't give you much room to work with. Channel 3 should suffer less interference than 4 does. You might also try channels 2 and 11 to see if there is any improvement.

    The attached diagram gives a visual representation of how equal strength networks can interfere (overlap).
     

    Attached Files:

  6. jab951

    jab951 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Thanks for the advice, channel 3 seems to have a stronger/more stable signal.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,315
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/923607

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice