Solved: Wireless usb adapter can't find DHCP server

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rgwelch002

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
115
I have a Gateway pc running WinXP Home .I have a wireless-G 2.4 ghz 802.11g Linksys router with a linksys wireless usb adapter the usb adapter "sounds like" it is trying to connect but can't. I think it has something to do with the DHCP server(Router) In the tcp/ip setting is set for auto config.I an sending a text document off a floppy drive of the command prompt of IPCONFIG/ALL.Could you please tell me what I'm doing wrong.I am working on a p2p network with eight machines.On my other machine it says lease Aug 17 to 18Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ron>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : gateway
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-30-BD-03-8A-40

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Compact Wireless-G USB Network Adapt
er with SpeedBooster
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-7E-0B-C8-70

C:\Documents and Settings\Ron>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,493
Both the ethernet and wireless are Media disconnected.

Can you detect your wireless network? If so, try to connect and show an ipconfig /all if you get something other than Media disconnected.
 

rgwelch002

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
115
Thanks, TerryNet for your reply.I have looked at my Linkys usb adaptor software and it says I have a ip address of 0.0.0.0 default gateway of 0.0.0.0 My software sounds like it tries to connect over and over again,but can't.IPCONFIG/ALL still says same as before. I am puzzled.I still think it has something o do with DCHP Can you please help me with this problem.Thanks again for your help
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,493
(from a JohnWill post)

IP addresses of 0.0.0.0 are normally caused by one of the following.

Diagnosis:
1. DHCP Service not running.
2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
3. Bad NIC card drivers.
4. Defective NIC hardware.

Resolution:
1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, reboot the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
1
i have the same problem with my netgear adaptor wg111v3 the media state says disconnected but the ip addresses all seem to work
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,428
There is also the issue of having both interfaces enabled and connected but the routers dhcp service has been set to only assign one ip address to that workstation. You can't have the same assignment on both and that results in a ip conflict.

I would suggest you disable your wireless interface and just connected wired. See if that works then report back for further advice.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,493
There is also the issue of having both interfaces enabled and connected but the routers dhcp service has been set to only assign one ip address to that workstation.
Side question, Wanderer2. How is that done, and can you give me an example of a router that has that feature?
 

rgwelch002

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
115
I'm still having the same problem.Sometimes when I type IpCONFIG/ALL I get a DHCP Server.....255.255.255.255 and no ip address o.o.o.o. or subnet mask o.o.o.o but the DHCP enabled...yes What does this DHCP Server number mean(255.255.255.255).It should be 192.168.1.1 (my Linksys Router). Still confused.and thanks for all of your help
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,493
Do the following repairs and then show another ipconfig /all please.

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top