1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless/Wired network & file sharing troubles

Discussion in 'Networking' started by monk930, Feb 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. monk930

    monk930 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    My situation sounds similar to Partha's ( http://forums.techguy.org/networking/685600-setting-up-wireless-lan.html ), with some different elements in the network set up.

    Here at work we have a wired network. Using our specified range of IPs and manually assigning them on the workstation computers, we're able to access the shared files on our "server" machine (just an XP pro machine hosting files) and we can also share our itunes libraries, printers, locally shared files, etc.

    We have several wireless routers set to use an internet IP within our range, and set to DHCP to provide access to visitors. They provide flawless internet access but no access to our LAN (which is perfect).

    Now we have a need to allow a wireless computer access to our LAN (namely iTunes library sharing). The router it connects to doesn't need to allow other connections (without LAN access), although that would be a perk.

    I wasn't around when the system was installed, so I don't know it too intimately, but I'll do the best I can:

    -All the wired computers and routers are connected to a 24 Port Linksys switcher.
    -The "server" machine is running a VPN
    -All the computers in question are running XP Pro SP2

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

    --eric
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Wire the new router as a wireless access point, it'll allow wireless connections and have full access to the LAN. Make sure you use at least WPA encryption with a strong key. :)

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).
     
  3. monk930

    monk930 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Looks good-I'll try it in a little bit-just as soon as I get a long enough break for it.

    One question (and it may be a bit silly, but I'd rather be 110% clear): since our server only allows certain IPs to access everything and the DHCP will be off, I will have to manually configure the computer connecting wireless to use an IP in our range, correct? Or no?

    Everything else in the building is manually configured, or else gets no internet or LAN access.

    Thanks for the quick reply-I can't wait to try it out!

    --eric
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Correct, if you don't have a DHCP server, they'd have to be manually assigned.
     
  5. monk930

    monk930 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Beautiful! It's worked on my test setup (the actual router and computer in question need to stay up and running, so I've used my laptop and one of our non-secure routers to test).

    I'll try it tomorrow with the real deal and once it's working on the important machine, I'll mark as solved.

    Thank you so much. I'm quite impressed with all that you guys do...and on a volunteer basis. Thank you!!!

    --Eric
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're welcome. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/687523

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice