Solved: Wireless woes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kristjan79

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13
I just bought a new D-Link WBR-2310 wireless router and an Acer laptop. I am trying to set up a wireless network with two computers, the laptop and my desktop machine. I have the D-Link router wired to my desktop computer. During the installation of the software for the router, it stopped and said that it could not recognize the router as a D-Link product and suggested that I might need a firmware upgrade. I also have no internet connection on the desktop in this configuration, but if I go back to plugging my cable modem directly into my Ethernet port it works again.

Something strange was that the wireless connection on my laptop works like a charm… and still is working like a charm. Although it states that it’s a 54Mbps connection and the router is supposed to be 108Mbps.

I called D-Link technical support last night and spent an hour and a half on the phone with them and we weren’t able to come up with anything. We attempted defining an IP address and DNS, and automatic IP and DNS configuration. Pinging the IP would not work either. We also attempted to disable the Windows XP firewall to no avail. D-Link suggested that I call the manufacturer of my computer and get technical support from them because we determined that there is nothing wrong with the router by plugging it into the Ethernet port on my laptop. Since I bought all the parts for the computer years ago and put it together myself, I can’t call anyone for advice.

Has anyone seen a problem like this before? I apologize if there is a post that already deals with this, but I couldn’t find one.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
can you post an IPCONFIG /all from the working laptop

and in a seperate reply also the IPCONFIG /ALL for the PC - see below for how

on the PC also
start>
control panel>
system>
hardware tab>
device manager button>

network adapters
click on the + sign

post backs whats there

also any ! X or ?

--------------------------
ipconfig /all

TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

ONE ---------------------------------
start
run
cmd
ipconfig /all

rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

TWO -----------------------------------------------

Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


------------------------------------------
Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/
 

kristjan79

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Kris>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : acer-c28991bd48
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : cablerocket.net

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : cablerocket.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5005G Wireless Network Ada
pter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-CF-50-09-70
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : January 19, 2007 6:15:39 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : January 19, 2007 9:15:39 AM
 

kristjan79

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Kris>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kristjan-nvlga7
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-18-FC-34-D8
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.68
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
4.2.2.2

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 52-D4-78-01-3D-84
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Kris>
 

kristjan79

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13
TerryNet said:
3rd party firewall blocking LAN access?
As far as I know there is no 3rd party firewall running, and we disabled the windows xp firewall in an attempt to get it working. The antivirus program that I use is called NOD 32, as far as I know there is no firewall bundled with it.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
this is probably the problem
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
usually means you have ICS - internet connection sharing enabled

gotoproperties of the lan connection and see if you have ICS ticked
 

kristjan79

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13
etaf said:
this is probably the problem


usually means you have ICS - internet connection sharing enabled

gotoproperties of the lan connection and see if you have ICS ticked
Thanks,

I'm at work for the day, but I'll give this a try when I get home tonight.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
I second what ETAF said. Your router is 192.168.0.1, which is the IP ICS creates.

And while you're checking for ICS, what's that bridge I see?
 

kristjan79

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
13
I'm happy to report that I just disabled internet connection sharing and I'm now hooked up!

Thank you, I really appreciate your help.

Kris
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
Your Welcome. (y)
Would you now mark this thread solved - which you have the power to do from your first post.
goto
Thread tools>
Tick - Mark Solved

Thanks (y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top