1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wireless won't connect

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by pdougan, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pdougan

    pdougan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    XP has stopped connecting to my wireless connecter "Wireless Network Connection Not Connected" Device manager says everything is normal, and I can identify other local wireless networks. XP recognizes that the connector is there, but it won't hook up.

    I have disabled and reenabled the wireless connector and reloaded all of the Broadcom software. I tried to do an XP repair, but I am using SP3. The slipstream recovery disc that I made is asking for a password to get into XP, but there isn't any. I've verified this with three different password cracking programs. Everything else is working; I am on an Ethernet connection now.

    Anybody have any ideas how to force XP to connect or know what drivers I need to reload that are used to connect to the wireless connector besides the Broadcom's that I have already reloaded? I really don't want to do a complete XP reinstall.
    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post whats in device manager
    also do a ipconfig /all

    do you have a firewall - try switching that off

    is the wireless set up with a key - secruity enabled - if so take it off

     
  3. pdougan

    pdougan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Sorry about the delay. I punched one too many buttons and ended up with BSOD and had to use the Acronis backup program to get back on line. It didn't fix the connection problem.

    Network adaptor:
    1394 Net Adapter
    Broadcom 802.11 b/g WLAN
    Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    All three report "This device is working properly."

    Result.txt
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-4A-8B-34
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 06, 2008 2:54:55 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 07, 2008 2:54:55 PM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-4B-5D-48-10
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you have ICS set up -
    internet connection sharing

    do you have another PC connected to this machine

    otherwise take that off
    right click on the netwrok connection
    properties
    advanced tab
    untick ICS
     
  5. pdougan

    pdougan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    There was no change after deselecting ICS
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may have a firewall blocking

    try the following

    start
    run
    cmd

    Ping 192.168.1.1

    post results

    Ping google.com

    post results

    ping 74.14.207.99

    post results
     
  7. pdougan

    pdougan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Now you've got my curiosity antenna up. How would pinging anything explain why something internal to my computer would not connect?? Anyway, here are the results:

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=252
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=252
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=252
    Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=252
    Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 56ms, Maximum = 58ms, Average = 57ms

    Pinging 74.14.207.99 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=252
    Reply from 74.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=83ms TTL=252
    Reply from 74.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=252
    Reply from 74.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=252
    Ping statistics for 74.14.207.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 83ms, Maximum = 85ms, Average = 84ms
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    see if it really is disconnected or just a message, and a DNS issue etc

    so those results show that everything is connected and you can use DNS, see external to router

    Now when it says its disconnected try again - also post an ipconfig /all
     
  9. pdougan

    pdougan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    it still shows that it is disconnected and the ipconfig confirms:

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-4B-5D-48-10
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-4A-8B-34
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 07, 2008 9:15:18 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 9:15:17 AM
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you still have ICS enabled
    Do you have wireless secruity enabled - if so did, you remove it
    also it may be worth changing channels - use 1,6 or 11
     
  11. rdickson

    rdickson

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I had this same problem, and called Dell support. Actually got support in English. Wound up deleting wireless adapter and downloading and installing latest driver for the adapter then rebooting. That worked. I had tried uninstall and reinstall without installing a new driver with no success, but new driver seemed to do the job.
     
  12. pdougan

    pdougan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    I never found out exactly what was causing the problem. Finally, out of frustration, I did a XP Recovery Console repair, reassigned my router, reinstalled new Broadcom drivers. Something worked. Not very scientific, but I didn't have anymore time to waste. I had to get back operational.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756389

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice