1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless works but ethernet does not

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rongordon, Jun 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rongordon

    rongordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    I have a Lenovo 3000 N200 with Windows XP purchased nine months ago. Both the wireless (Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter) and ethernet (Broadcom NetLink Fast Ethernet) were working perfectly until two days ago. I have been unable to repair the ethernet. My ISP provider had me check ipconfig/all and concluded that I had a faulty network card, but I wonder if there could be something amiss with the configuration. Please help me out! p.s. I may have been guilty of having both wireless and ethernet enabled at the same time.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Having them both enabled isn't an issue, my laptop is always in that state when I connect it to my network with a wired connection for backup.

    Have you checked the BIOS configuration to see if the NIC is disabled there?



    With the wired connection connected to a known good cable and a known good port on the router, please post the following.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?



    I'd like to see this as well.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. rongordon

    rongordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Thank you for your prompt response.

    First, I checked the BIOS but it is rudimentary and doesn't have anything about networking or devices.

    Under Device Manager, I have 1394 Net Adapter which has a red X, Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter, and Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet both of which are green. There are no devices with yellow markings.

    Here is the result for ipconfig /all

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LENOVO-A79A65F4
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-7C-1E-E8
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.6
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 08, 2009 3:13:14 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 08, 2009 4:13:14 PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-0B-25-37
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

    Hope that helps.

    p.s. I still have seem to have problems connecting to the internet with both wireless and ethernet enabled. However, when I disabled the ethernet and rebooted, I was able to get on the internet with wireless.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

    Diagnosis:

    1. DHCP Service not running.
    2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
    3. Bad NIC card drivers.
    4. Defective NIC hardware.

    Resolution:

    1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
    2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
    3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
    4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
     
  5. rongordon

    rongordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Hi JohnWill,

    1) I have checked the DHCP Client service, and it is showing Started and Automatic.

    2) I have shut down all the other computers on the network and restarted the router, and the result was still all zeros for the ethernet.

    Since I still was not connected to the internet, even with the wireless enabled, I went into Network Connections in the Control Panel. It was now showing that both the wireless and the ethernet were connected and firewalled. However, it wasn't until I disabled the ethernet that I could connect to the internet with the wireless.

    Then just out of interest, I disabled the wireless, left the ethernet connected and firewalled, and ran the ipconfig /all again, and this was the result:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LENOVO-A79A65F4
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-0B-25-37
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 1:15:59 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 2:15:59 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

    However, when I disabled the ethernet and then tried to re-enable it, I got a different result:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LENOVO-A79A65F4
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-7C-1E-E8
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.6
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 1:45:59 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 2:45:59 PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-0B-25-37
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

    which is back to all the zeros. I find this all very confusing, and I am wondering why I got the first result (192.168.2.3) when I first turned on the computer. Any thoughts?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, with both enabled, the wired connection will be preferred, that's how Windows works. If you really need to have the wireless connecting to the Internet, you'll have to manually configure the wired connection and leave the Default Gateway and DNS Addresses blank.

    If you have a wired connection to the router, why in the world do you need to connect to the internet wirelessly anyway?
     
  7. rongordon

    rongordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Your question to me was if I have a wired connection to the router, why would I want to use the wireless connection?

    Actually, until three days ago, I go the internet on my wired connection. Now I can't, so I have enabled the wireless connection. What I want to do is go back to using the wired connection, but it still won't get me on the internet.

    I have still to try uninstalling the driver and reinstalling it or getting a new network card.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Why are you disabling the wired connection anyway?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do the driver reinstall, because you never know what might happen with a corrupted driver.

    If that does not change the sometimes works but sometimes IP is all zero my guess is that the NIC is failing intermittently. More frustrating than a hard and consistent failure, but we mere people don't get to write the rules for hardware failure. :)
     
  10. rongordon

    rongordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    To both JohnMills and TerryNet,

    I have been disabling the wired connection because it prevented the wireless connection from working. I have no clue why that should be so, but it is consistent. If I have both the wired and wireless connections enabled, I simply am not able to get connected to the internet.

    Next I will try reinstalling the ethernet (wired) driver, but I also getting the feeling that I have a faulty/temperamental network card.
     
  11. rongordon

    rongordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    I have now uninstalled and reinstalled the ethernet driver, and the result is the same: all zeros in the IP.

    The only thing left is the NIC. My computer is still under warranty (although I do not have extended warranty), so I believe I should be able to get a new network card free. I have already spoken to Tiger Direct where I bought the computer, and they want to charge me $59.99 to diagnose my computer. I have no idea what an NIC looks like, where to find it in my computer, or how to install a new one. What should I do next?
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your NIC is integrated, so a direct replacement would mean a motherboard replacement. Which might require other devices to be replaced. So you don't want to do that unless you can get it done under warranty.

    So, if it's your dime, you will resign yourself to getting an external card--either USB ethernet adapter or, depending on the type of slot you have, a PCMCIA/Notebook/Cardbus or ExpressCard ethernet adapter.

    $60 to diagnose a computer under warranty? Such a deal. :(
     
  13. rongordon

    rongordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks TerryNet,

    Unless there is a compelling reason to have an external card, I can be content not having to spend any extra money and enter the 21st Century and learn to live with wireless.
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, personally, I don't consider living without wired access living in the future. ;) Wired connections have a lot to recommend them, and every machine I have has wired capability, or I fix it. :)
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    OTOH not everybody has the same needs for throughput or reliability. For many of us wireless can be satisfactory, with the option of getting that external ethernet adapter anytime it's needed. :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/833545

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice