1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless works but using LAN cable does not.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jjones45, Nov 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I'm running Windows Vista on a Dell Laptop. Normally I just use wireless wherever I am but now I need to hard wire to the computer. It was initially working for a few minutes but then the connection dropped. Now whenever I plug the cable in, it shows it as being connected but comes up as local only so I can't browse or do anything.

    I have tried:

    -Restarting the machine
    -Ensuring that windows was picking up the IP addresses automatically
    -Checking the connection on another computer, works fine.
    -Disabling the IpV6
    -Disabling/Enabling the LAN connection in the Manage network connections setup
    -Uninstalling, re installing the driver for the ethernet adapter
    -System Restore

    -Couple of Edits:

    I've also tried in safe mode with networking and have disabled any firewalls that were running.

    Again, most of the time I never use the hard wired connection, but whenever I have, it hasn't had any problems until now.

    It always comes up as being connected, but says local only.

    Any thoughts/ideas are much appreciated.

    Here's the results from the Ipconfig:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : a-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-E2-13-9A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.103(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 12:23:09 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 27, 2011 11:28:48 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : socal.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-69-1A-34-F4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.socal.rr.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{FFD6A96B-04BF-412B-8516-308B18E5D511}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try the ping tests below
    then also try safemode with networking - see below

    also what firewall /security suite do you have on the PC - or ever had in the past on the PC

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.2.1
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router accosiated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    etaf, I will try the ping tests. I've ran the machine in safe mode with networking and experience the same. I have also disabled both the windows firewall and the Comodo firewall which I normally run.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    depending on the results of the ping tests - if highlight a DNS issue then
    may be blocking
    I would remove completely
     
  5. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Here's the ping results. I'll go ahead and uninstall Comodo.


    Ping 192.168.2.1 results:



    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),


    Ping google.com results:


    Ping request could not find host google.com Please check the name and try again.


    Ping 209.183.226.152 results:



    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.

    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.

    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.

    Reply from 192.168.2.103: Destination host unreachable.



    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see the ipconfig /all and the three ping tests when comodo is uninstalled

    if still the same try a tcp/ip reset


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Uninstalled Comodo, rebooted and re-ran the ping tests. The results were somewhat different, which I'll post below. However, several minutes after I ran the ping tests, the icon in the lower right started showing both local and internet. I still can't browse though.


    IPCONFIG ALL RESULTS:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : a-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-E2-13-9A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.103(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 12:30:11 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 27, 2011 12:30:12 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-69-1A-34-F4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{682B7A0B-0981-4EE7-9F58-BED0A5CAE4D8}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{FFD6A96B-04BF-412B-8516-308B18E5D511}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    PING 192.168.2.1 RESULTS:




    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64



    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms



    PING GOOGLE.COM Results:


    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again.

    PING 209.183.226.152 RESULTS:



    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=49

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=49

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=49

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=49



    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 79ms, Maximum = 82ms, Average = 80ms
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats interesting - now looks like a DNS issue - lets try two things and if that does not help - we can setup a open dns like google
    if you type 209.183.226.152: into a web browser - should get onto this site

    now try

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    also try a
    ipconfig /flushdns

    if not the google open dns


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Google public DNS

    Google public DNS
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    Theres also a link on how to setup those DNS IP address
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    If I put 209.183.226.152 into the browser, I will get onto this site, however its very slow and none of the images load. I will try the other steps now and post the results.


    EDIT:


    -Successfully reset the Winsock Catalog

    -Reseting Echo Request, OK!
    -Reseting Global, OK!
    -Reseting Interface, OK!

    Reseting Echo Request, OK! (IPv6)


    Rebooted and now it's back to Local Only.


    Just FYI, IPv6 is still unchecked under Local Area Connection Properties
     
  10. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Just ran the Ipconfig /flushdns

    Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thats correct , and as expected, the site uses names to load other items and its the names you are not resolving via DNS.

    lets try google open dns as posted in post#8 above
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you posted here - http://forums.techguy.org/networkin...connected-wireless-network-3.html#post8161816 asking how to set DNS

    my link above shows you
    here it is again

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Google public DNS

    Google public DNS
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    Theres also a link on how to setup those DNS IP address
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Your IP looks correctly assigned by the router
     
  13. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    etaf, I must have missed that link earlier. But anyways, I did Google DNS for IPv4 and it appears to have worked. I havent a clue what it did, but thank you. Hopefully it stays working and I will definitely save this thread for future reference.

    Many thanks again, I appreciate all your help.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I would suggest you log into the router and set the open dns there , that way it will apply to all devices you connect to your router , otherwise you may need to set the open dns on other devices

    whats the make and model of the router
     
  15. jjones45

    jjones45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    It's my friend's router while im staying at his place so i'll just leave it be since it works on his devices. But again, many thanks.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028005

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice