1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wireless works, wired doesn't - Same computer

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Verthandi, Oct 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Edit:: Solved. Issue related to driver for network adapter.
    :: Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2, http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3449#dl
    Many thanks to etaf!

    I have been using a wireless USB adapter to connect to the internet, but it drops the connection at random times. I decided to run a wired connection to the router, but I can't seem to get it to work. The first time I tried I got this: "Error 651: Your modem (or other connecting device) has reported an error." So I looked it up.

    The main things I found were a Windows 7 bug with the file raspppoe.sys and a problem with Virtual PC. I am running Windows 7, but do not have Virtual PC. The suggested fix was to replace raspppoe.sys with a "working" one from vista. I downloaded it from the Microsoft site and replaced the file. Now I get "Error 797: A connection to the remote access server was not made because the modem was not found." I am still able to connect via wireless.

    CMD ipconfig /all with the wireless:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : UberPandora
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys WUSB600N Wireless-N USB Network A
    dapter with Dual-Band ver. 2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-9C-97-0F-F8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1978:56a4:be1:e23d%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, October 15, 2010 8:51:11 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 16, 2010 8:50:05 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251667868
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-23-D3-93-00-25-9C-97-0F-F8

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:c0f:28fc:bb18:5c3c(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c0f:28fc:bb18:5c3c%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{DD9336F3-6425-45F7-B5F1-84EE5EDE2295}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    *****************************************************
    Just wired


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : UberPandora
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:On your ipconfig wired,does not show an active lan adapter.
    Let's make sure that all the components are started up in the right order and correctly:
    Tips on setting up broadband connection, courtesy of Johnwill

    You don't need any setup disk to configure a broadband router.


    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on. The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.
    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  3. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, followed given instructions.

    ipconfig /all was the same.

    All pings failed, all gave the same message:

    PING: transmit failed. General failure.


    In my router manager it doesn't even show up. The other computer I have wired shows up and works fine, but the one I'm trying to wire now doesn't even show being connected to the device. Possibly the wire? Just bought it brand new yesterday.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you post back the results of device manager


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Whats the make and model ?
    Looks like it needs drivers which you should be able to get from the manufacturers website
    If dell also the TAG number , which is written on the machine
     
  7. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    The make and model of...?
    In the "Just bought it brand new yesterday" I was referring to the cat5.
    I build my own computers.

    I'll check for drivers.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OH OK - so you need the drivers , is the NIC integrated into the motherboard - if so then make and model of the motherboard , then you can get the drivers from the manufacturers website
    if you installed a seperate NIC - then same make and model of the NIC and you should get the driver from that manufacturers site
     
  9. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (Rev 2)

    I went to the Gigabyte site, but when I do a search (for just about anything it seems) I get this:
    Sorry, the page you are looking for is no longer available or has been moved.

    So I put the mobo install CD in and had windows search it for drivers but I get this:
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Okay got the search working, but they only have drivers up for Rev 1, 1.6 and 1.7
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
  12. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, downloaded and installing. We'll see what happens.
    Thank you also. I feel very silly getting all hung up on hardware and not even thinking about drivers >.<
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    We all do that sometimes ,

    post back a device manager image - should be all clean once you have all the drivers installed
     
  14. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Works! Problem Solved.
    Thank you very much. :D
    (insert deep bow of respect here)
     
  15. Verthandi

    Verthandi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/956378

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice