1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WLAN not working - Changed atheros 9485 to Intel N6230 with no results.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rincew, Jan 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rincew

    rincew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Dear tech experts, I have an issue with ASUS N56VZ notebook with Windows 7 Home Premium - my WLAN stopped working. A bit of history leading to the malfunction: wifi reception quality was weak in my apartment and I had tried to improve it by using ASUS USB-N66 and USB-N53. Both devices refused to work with this laptop, I got a couple of BSOD instances and then my internal Atheros 9485 stopped working completely. I changed multiple driver versions without any success. I didn't bother to create recovery points, which I now understand was a big mistake. I also read about on the web how bad this particular Atheros's reputation is and decided that it may have malfunctinoned and the Intel adapter may work better. So I installed N6230 but got exactly same results. Both device are OK in the Device Manager, visible via "netsh wlan show all" as "Not ready" and not visible via "ipconfig /all". I fought and removed some tunnel adapters as per various forum threads and also did some deactivations to ipv6, not sure how it all looks now. I list below results for:
    - TSG Sysinfo
    - ipconfig /all
    - netsh wlan show all
    Hope for your assistance - thanks in advance! (never mind the cyrillic letters in connection descriptions - these are generic words saying "network connection etc")

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8077 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000, -1984 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 114370 MB, Free - 50038 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., N56VZ
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Anna>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : AnnaPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Сетевое подключение Bluetooth 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Устройства Bluetooth (личной сети) #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-00-76-25-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Подключение по локальной сети:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8161/8165 PCI-E Gigabit Etherne
    t Controller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 30-85-A9-2C-8A-1F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.107(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 20, 2013 2:21:06 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 27, 2013 2:21:06 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    C:\Users\Anna>netsh wlan show all
    Wireless System Information Summary
    (Time: 1/20/2013 2:22:49 AM Russian Standard Time)


    =======================================================================
    ============================== SHOW DRIVERS ===========================
    =======================================================================


    Interface name: Беспроводное сетевое соединение 3

    Driver : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6230
    Vendor : Intel Corporation
    Provider : Intel
    Date : 9/30/2012
    Version : 15.3.1.2
    INF file : C:\Windows\INF\oem51.inf
    Files : 4 total
    C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\Netwsw00.sys
    C:\Windows\system32\Netwcw00.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\Netwrw00.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\drivers\vwifibus.sys


    =======================================================================
    ============================= SHOW INTERFACES =========================
    =======================================================================


    There is 1 interface on the system:

    Name : Беспроводное сетевое соединение 3
    Description : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6230
    GUID : e51fbd78-aaf3-4fad-affd-8640c8e124dd
    Physical address : 00:15:00:76:25:b9
    State : not ready

    Hosted network status : Not available


    =======================================================================
    =========================== SHOW HOSTED NETWORK =======================
    =======================================================================


    Hosted network settings
    -----------------------
    Mode : Allowed
    Settings : <Not configured>

    Hosted network status
    ---------------------
    Status : Not available


    =======================================================================
    ============================= SHOW SETTINGS ===========================
    =======================================================================


    Wireless LAN settings
    ---------------------
    Show blocked networks in visible network list: No

    Only use GP profiles on GP-configured networks: No

    Hosted network mode allowed in WLAN service: Yes

    Allow shared user credentials for network authentication: Yes

    Block period: Not Configured.

    Function WlanQueryInterface returns error 5023:


    =======================================================================
    ============================== SHOW FILTERS ===========================
    =======================================================================


    Allow list on the system (group policy)
    ---------------------------------------
    <None>

    Allow list on the system (user)
    -------------------------------
    <None>

    Block list on the system (group policy)
    ---------------------------------------
    <None>

    Block list on the system (user)
    -------------------------------
    <None>


    =======================================================================
    =========================== SHOW CREATEALLUSER ========================
    =======================================================================


    Everyone is allowed to create all user profiles.


    =======================================================================
    ============================= SHOW PROFILES ===========================
    =======================================================================


    Profiles on interface &#1041;&#1077;&#1089;&#1087;&#1088;&#1086;&#1074;&#1086;&#1076;&#1085;&#1086;&#1077; &#1089;&#1077;&#1090;&#1077;&#1074;&#1086;&#1077; &#1089;&#1086;&#1077;&#1076;&#1080;&#1085;&#1077;&#1085;&#1080;&#1077; 3:

    Group policy profiles (read only)
    ---------------------------------
    <None>

    User profiles
    -------------
    <None>


    =======================================================================
    ========================== SHOW PROFILES NAME=* =======================
    =======================================================================

    Profile "*" is not found on the system.

    =======================================================================
    ======================= SHOW NETWORKS MODE=BSSID ======================
    =======================================================================


    Interface name : &#1041;&#1077;&#1089;&#1087;&#1088;&#1086;&#1074;&#1086;&#1076;&#1085;&#1086;&#1077; &#1089;&#1077;&#1090;&#1077;&#1074;&#1086;&#1077; &#1089;&#1086;&#1077;&#1076;&#1080;&#1085;&#1077;&#1085;&#1080;&#1077; 3


    C:\Users\Anna>
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    lets see the following please

    xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) (For windows 8 see below) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal

    For windows 8 - I dont have windows 8 and not tried - but this should work

    1) MSPaint is only available in classic desktop mode and can not use this program with the new Windows 8 start screen.
    You can find MSPaint by typing &#8220;mspaint&#8221;, which will search and allow you to install.
    MS "Fresh Paint program" is for Windows 8, download free from the Windows 8 store.

    2)
    >Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. rincew

    rincew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Antivirus - Avast free version.
    Firewall - ZoneAlarm free version.
    Xirrus screenshot attached - no surprises, there are no networks as the adapter is not working.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Xirrus at least sees the adapter
    so in the past when the adapter does not appear in ipconfig /all the majority of cases often involves a windows re-install
    BUT a few things in the past have resolved the issue on a few PCs

    1) Remove zone alarm
    2) Chkdsk
    3) SFC /scannow

    so lets try those
    --------------------------------------------------------------
    Zonealarm Removal Tool
    The latest versions have the uninstalled included in the installation
    run the ZA uninstaller from Start > Programs > ZoneAlarm

    removal tool
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/support/download/clean.exe
    You need to use Internet Explorer as other browsers corrupt the download

    windows 7
    https://support.zonealarm.com/index...arm-from-windows-vista-64-and-windows-7-64bit

    If possible, first try to run the universal uninstaller found at the link below. This tool will remove all ZoneAlarm data from your computer: When the download box pops up, choose Save, in the next box choose Save to Desktop. Restart the computer before running the tool.
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/support/Dominica/CLEAN.exe

    how to uninstall zonealarm
    https://support.zonealarm.com/index...lete-full-uninstall-of-zonealarm-9x-and-below
    https://support.zonealarm.com/index...emove-zonealarm-9x-and-below-from-my-computer

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    chkdsk
    http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/67612-check-disk-chkdsk.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
    sfc /scannow
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/1538-sfc-scannow-command-system-file-checker.html
     
  5. rincew

    rincew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you so much! I uninstalled the friggin' ZoneAlarm and everything is back to normal! Marking this as solved. I can't believe a firewall would cause so many problems.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yep, you will see removing firewalls here , norton, mcafee etc etc - usually resolves issues and probably average 1 a day here or higher

    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved WLAN working
  1. DVB
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    732
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086012

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice