1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Won't Boot - Blue Screen

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by leachim, May 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    BSOD 0x6b - Process1 initialization etc

    64 bit machine

    Tried to repair it countless times

    I used this in rec consol

    bcdedit /export c:\bcd_backup
    ren c:\boot\bcd.old
    bootrec /rebuildbcd

    I also tried it with D instead of C

    I see that there are 4 partitions to this drive

    system ?
    system reserved which is C
    OS which is D
    Data which is E

    The first time I tried it, it worked !
    Then on reboot - it went back to bsod

    getting fed up with it - am i doing something wrong, or is there another way

    Safe mode stops on CLASSPNP.sys
     
  2. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Could be hardware, but try this first
    1) Power on the computer
    2) Press F12 key to enter the BIOS
    3) Go to "Advanced" menu
    4) Go down to "System Config"
    5) Change SATA Controller from "AHCI" to "Compatibility"
    6) Press F10 to save and exit
     
  3. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Thanks for that

    I have tried this

    Seems to be listed under "Integrated Peripherals" in the BIOS

    Choices are Native IDE, RAID, AHCI

    Tried them all........
     
  4. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You think this command would do something?

    ren c:\boot\bcd.old

    In any case, messing with the BCD is almost never going to help unless you know for sure that something has been done to it. You can only make things worse.
     
  6. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Even tho it is a Hitachi drive, I couldnt get their Drive checker to work (64bit?)

    Tried Seatools - passed ok on extended test

    Downloaded UBCD (although it may not be the same as yours) and tried it, but failed with error 0x7b
     
  7. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Maybe I copied it down wrong

    But I have tried a couple permutations from different sources

    Well Spotted !
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Memory Testing (including bootable CD's and floppies):

    Memtest86
    MemScope (Floppy and CD images.)
    Roadkil's RAM Test
    Microsoft Memory Test (floppy or CD ISO image)

    If you have enough memory sticks, you can test them by removing one at a time and see if the problem disappears.

    If you are running Vista or 7, tap F8 on boot and choose the memory diagnostic, or if you can boot up, go to Start > Search and type:

    mdsched.exe

    Choose to run a memory diagnostic on next boot. Or, you can boot from the DVD and run it from there.
     
  9. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    I m anaged to get an old copy of UBCD to run memtest

    1 stick reported an error

    The other passed 8 times, so tried that on its own

    Still the same BSOD
     
  10. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    What are your system specs? If it's a manufactured PC, name of manufacturer and model #. If it's a desktop include what the power supply is.
     
  11. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Packard Bell iXtreme M5741 Desktop/PC

    PS is an FSP Group, model ATX 250PA (1PF)
    (tested it with a PS tester...)

    Is it man enough ?
     
  12. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    According to the specs I found this comes with a 250w PSU. The big box computers come with just enough PSU to run them. PSU's degrade with time. If you have access to another known good PSU that you can use to test with I would try that.
     
  13. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015
    Just tried another PS

    Same I am afraid.....
     
  14. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    At this point, we don't even know what condition the BCD is in.

    Is it always 6B and are you sure that is what it is?

    Do you have all service packs installed?

    If you can access files, go to:

    C:/windows/system32/codeintegrity

    and delete the file named "Bootcat.cache". Then try to boot normally.

    [​IMG]

    Have you tried System Restore?
     
  15. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,015

    Bootcat.cache is not there - I remember deleting it earlier

    Still 6b error
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1052695