Solved: Won't display webpages

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sistasweetpea

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
6
I have an old laptop that won't display webpages. When the computer boots, yahoo messenger automatically starts up and logs in. When I try to open IE or Firefox, I get webpage cannot be displayed. I am connected through a wireless DSL connection and the connection is strong. There is no problem with the other computers in the house

I'm with AT&T and have DSL wireless
Westell 327w is my modem
The computer is a Acer Travelmate 4010 with XP home SP2
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
 

sistasweetpea

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
6
I put in the first command, there was no message. was there supposed to be one?
After the second command it prompted me to restart and I did.
It's still not working
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
That's correct operation. I didn't really think it would fix it, just wanted to make sure that was proper before we moved on.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

sistasweetpea

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
6
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]

(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.



C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>IPCONFIG/ALL



Windows IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Brittany

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : launchmodem.com



Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network

Connection

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-F0-CA-FE-56

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254

192.168.1.254

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 26, 2008 2:58:25 PM



Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, March 27, 2008 2:58:25 PM



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont

roller

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-BC-1A-25



C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands, one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING 216.109.112.135

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

sistasweetpea

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
6
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]

(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.



C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>IPCONFIG



Windows IP Configuration





Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected



C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>PING 192.168.1.102



Pinging 192.168.1.102 with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128



Ping statistics for 192.168.1.102:

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms



C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>PING 192.168.1.254



Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64



Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 2ms



C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>PING 216.109.112.135



Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=51

Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=51

Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=51

Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=51



Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Minimum = 56ms, Maximum = 57ms, Average = 56ms



C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>PING yahoo.com

Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.





C:\Documents and Settings\Brittany>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
OK, you are connected to the Internet, but DNS resolution isn't working properly.

I suspect this is either a problem with the configuration of your router, or the ISP is configuring the wrong DNS servers, or their DNS servers are down.

Here's something to try, which will verify that it's on the ISP side of things.

Let's try replacing your DNS server. Follow the instructions at OpenDNS for Windows and configure to use OpenDNS for your DNS server. See if that makes a difference.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Could "WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes" be a factor here?
 

sistasweetpea

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
6
After I did the opendns, it still wasn't working. I noticed the kapersky antivirus kept popping up so i turned all the services off. Then it worked. It must have been blocking it
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top