1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Word 2000 compatible with Vista ?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Cédric, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cédric

    Cédric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,501
    Hiya all,

    I'd like to know if I can install and use Word 2000 on a machine running with Vista? Is it compatible?

    Thanks for your help :)


    Cedric
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Office 2000/ Word 2000 should indeed work on Vista.
     
  3. Cédric

    Cédric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,501
    Cheers!
     
  4. mnoonan

    mnoonan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I installed Office 2000 on a new Vista machine. When I load Word, I'm always prompted for the Office CD. Word works, but it won't remember normal.dot, even when I save it again.
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Why not just copy the CD to a directory on the hard drive and install (or reinstlal) from that directory. Then you at least don't get prompted to insert it.

    As far as Normal.dot, try deleting all that you find and restart Word.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can also have Office save the setup files on your disk, then it can find them whenever you use a feature that's not installed, or you do updates that require the original media.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Odd, I never had that problem. Try reinstalling it and doing a Full install, and then install all the Service Packs(should be 3), and then any additional updates.

    You can get them from here: http://office.microsoft.com/en-ca/downloads/CD010225771033.aspx
    You need the 3 Service Packs then all the updates that come after SP3.
     
  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Or just slipstream the Service Pack with your source files. Then you don't have to keep installing it separately each time. Can even re-burn a CD with all that on it. I even have it put in my product ID automatically.

    Then just copy it to the hard drive and install from there.
     
  9. Spirit775

    Spirit775

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I will try it and let you know.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Word 2000
  1. karebear
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    690
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541355

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice